Roberto Luongo had the perfect tweet about Canucks captaincy

Oct 1 2019, 11:45 pm

You’ve got to hand it to the Vancouver Canucks, they know how to build drama.

The team went against conventional thinking on Tuesday, deciding to keep their decision on a new captain a secret for eight more days.

Instead of announcing who will wear the C on the eve of their first regular season game, head coach Travis Green announced the team will wait until the home opener on Wednesday, October 9 to make it official.

That’s exactly what the team did when Henrik Sedin was given the C at the start of their 40th anniversary season. The only difference is that game was also the season-opener. The Canucks begin this season on the road in Edmonton on Wednesday and Calgary on Saturday.

Until then, four Canucks players will wear A’s on their jerseys, as the Canucks revealed with this tweet:

The attached image features five prominent captains in team history: Orland Kurtenbach, Stan Smyl, Trevor Linden, Markus Naslund, and Henrik Sedin.

Enter the 12th captain in Canucks history, Roberto Luongo:

There have been many great tweets in the history of @Strombone1, but this may be the best.

Luongo, of course, served as Canucks captain for two seasons (2008-09 and 2009-10). League rules didn’t allow goalies to officially serve as captains during games, so Luongo couldn’t wear the C on his jersey. He painted one on his mask instead.

The future Hall of Famer removed himself from the role before the 2010-11 season to concentrate on the job of being the team’s No. 1 goalie.

Here’s the list of Canucks captains:

Season(s) Captain
2010-2018 Henrik Sedin
2008-2010 Roberto Luongo
2000-2008 Markus Naslund
1997-2000 Mark Messier
1991-1997 Trevor Linden
1990-1991 Trevor Linden/Dan Quinn/Doug Lidster
1982-1990 Stan Smyl
1979-1982 Kevin McCarthy
1977-1979 Don Lever
1976-1977 Chris Oddleifson
1975-1976 Andre Boudrias
1970-1974 Orland Kurtenbach

Rob WilliamsRob Williams

+ Offside
+ Hockey