9 candidates running in Vancouver City Council byelection

Sep 13 2017, 4:58 am

Campaign signs should begin popping up on front lawns across Vancouver ahead of next month’s byelection to fill a vacant seat on Vancouver City Council.

Last Friday was the deadline for candidates to file their nomination papers, and a total of nine candidates are now officially in the running:

  • Diego Cardona (Vision Vancouver)
  • Hector Bremner (Non-Partisan Association)
  • Pete Fry (Green Party)
  • Judy Graves (OneCity)
  • Mary Jean “Watermelon” Dunsdon (Sensible Vancouver)
  • Gary Lee (independent)
  • Damian J. Murphy (independent)
  • Jean Swanson (independent)
  • Joshua Wasilenkoff (independent)

The byelection on Saturday, October 14 is being held to fill the seat vacated by Geoff Meggs, who quit City Council in July after being appointed as the Chief of Staff for Premier John Horgan’s new BC NDP provincial government.

With the vacancy from Meggs’ resignation, City Council is now comprised of six Vision Vancouver councillors including Mayor Gregor Robertson, three Non-Partisan Association councillors, and one Green councillor.

The City Council byelection will also simultaneously include a ballot for the Vancouver School Board byelection. The School Board candidates are:

  • Joy Alexander (Vision Vancouver)
  • Ken Clement (Vision Vancouver)
  • Theodora Lamb (Vision Vancouver)
  • Mike Lombardi (Vision Vancouver)
  • Allan Wong (Vision Vancouver)
  • Fraser Ballantyne (Non-Partisan Association)
  • Lisa Dominato (Non-Partisan Association)
  • Robert McDowell (Non-Partisan Association)
  • Julian Prieto (Non-Partisan Association)
  • Christopher JK Richardson (Non-Partisan Association)
  • Janet Fraser (Green Party)
  • Estrellita Gonzalez (Green Party)
  • Judy Zaichkowsky (Green Party)
  • Carrie Bercic (OneCity)
  • Erica Jaaf (OneCity)
  • Diana Day (COPE)
  • Jamie Lee Hamilton (IDEA Vancouver)
  • Christine Arnold (independent)
  • Adi Pick (independent)

The individuals elected to the seats in the City Council and School Board byelections will hold their position for approximately one year, before voters return to the polls in October 2018 for the scheduled civic election.

See also
Kenneth ChanKenneth Chan

+ News
+ Politics
+ City Hall