Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
Soccer, Sports

Ibrahimovic and Rooney visit Whitecaps in 2019 (SCHEDULE)

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams Jan 07, 2019 5:04 pm 126
Zlatan rooney
MLS

The Vancouver Whitecaps released their 2019 MLS regular season schedule on Monday, and at this point, we may know more about the opponents than the home team.

After imploding emotionally in the second half of last season, the Whitecaps blew up their roster this winter. Gone are a number of familiar faces, including team captain Kendall Waston, star player Alphonso Davies, top goal scorer Kei Kamara, among many others.

It was a necessary step for a club with a divided locker room.

New manager Marc Dos Santos has been tasked with rebuilding the roster, which he began doing last month. Expect many more moves to come before the 2019 season kicks off.

Until then, let’s take a look at their opponents.

Shortened schedule

The Whitecaps will start and end their season at home, beginning with a visit from Minnesota United FC on March 2 and ending with Real Salt Lake on October 6.

The last game of the MLS regular season is 22 days earlier than last year, and that’s by design. All teams will continue to play a 34-game regular season, but the league has moved to a more compact schedule, allowing the MLS Cup to be handed out a month earlier than normal.

The majority of Whitecaps home games will take place on Saturday (11), with matches also occurring on Friday (3), Wednesday (2), and Sunday (1).

See also

Star players visiting Vancouver

Zlatan Ibrahimovic is scheduled to play his first-ever match in Vancouver when LA Galaxy visits on April 5. The 37-year-old soccer star proved there’s still plenty of gas left in the tank last season, scoring 22 goals in 27 matches.

Another legend of the sport, Wayne Rooney is scheduled to visit with DC United on August 17. The former England captain scored 12 goals in 20 matches last year.

While star players have sometimes skipped playing in Vancouver in the past, both Ibrahimovic and Rooney played games on turf last season.

Rival team visits

Vancouver’s Cascadia rivals will visit early this season, as the Seattle Sounders come to BC Place on March 30, while the Portland Timbers play on May 10.

Toronto FC makes their lone visit to Vancouver on May 31.

Road trip!

The Whitecaps visit Seattle on June 29 and Portland on August 10, both conveniently on Saturdays.

Other notable matches

Kendall Waston won’t make an awkward visit to Vancouver this year, after expressing his desire to leave town. He’s now with expansion FC Cincinnati, who play the Whitecaps in Ohio for their lone match on August 3.

MLS Cup champion Atlanta United FC visit BC Place on May 15.

The Whitecaps will celebrate the 40th anniversary of the 1979 NASL Soccer Bowl championship when New York City FC visits on August 31.

Full 2019 MLS regular season schedule

Date Home Away Time (PT)
Sat, Mar 2 Vancouver Minnesota 3:00 PM
Sat, Mar 9 Salt Lake Vancouver 3:00 PM
Sat, Mar 16 Houston Vancouver 12:00 PM
Sat, Mar 30 Vancouver Seattle 7:00 PM
Fri, Apr 5 Vancouver LA Galaxy 7:00 PM
Fri, Apr 12 Chicago Vancouver 5:30 PM
Wed, Apr 17 Vancouver LAFC 7:00 PM
Sat, Apr 20 Orlando Vancouver 12:00 PM
Sat, Apr 27 Vancouver Philadelphia 2:00 PM
Fri, May 3 Colorado Vancouver 6:00 PM
Fri, May 10 Vancouver Portland 7:00 PM
Wed, May 15 Vancouver Atlanta 7:00 PM
Sat, May 18 Kansas City Vancouver 5:30 PM
Wed, May 22 NY Red Bulls Vancouver 5:00 PM
Sat, May 25 Vancouver Dallas 4:00 PM
Fri, May 31 Vancouver Toronto 7:00 PM
Sat, Jun 22 Vancouver Colorado 7:00 PM
Wed, Jun 26 Dallas Vancouver 6:00 PM
Sat, Jun 29 Seattle Vancouver 7:00 PM
Sat, Jul 6 LAFC Vancouver 7:30 PM
Sat, Jul 13 Vancouver Kansas City 7:00 PM
Wed, Jul 17 New England Vancouver 4:00 PM
Sat, Jul 20 Vancouver San Jose 7:00 PM
Sat, Jul 27 Minnesota Vancouver 5:00 PM
Sat, Aug 3 Cincinnati Vancouver 4:30 PM
Sat, Aug 10 Portland Vancouver 8:00 PM
Sat, Aug 17 Vancouver DC 7:00 PM
Sat, Aug 24 San Jose Vancouver 7:00 PM
Wed, Aug 28 Montreal Vancouver 5:00 PM
Sat, Aug 31 Vancouver NYCFC 7:00 PM
Sat, Sep 14 Vancouver Houston 7:00 PM
Sat, Sep 21 Vancouver Columbus 2:00 PM
Sun, Sep 29 LA Galaxy Vancouver 4:30 PM
Sun, Oct 6 Vancouver Salt Lake 1:00 PM
Dh newsletter logo

Get direct access to our top weekly content, contests, and perks.


D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2019 Buzz Connected Media Inc.