Henrik and Daniel Sedin get BC Sports Hall of Fame call

Nov 15 2018, 2:28 am

It’s the first, but not likely the last time we’ll get to say this. Henrik and Daniel Sedin have received the call for the Hall of Fame.

Today, it’s the BC Sports Hall of Fame, as the Canucks legends highlight the 2019 class.

Also heading for the Hall is Vernon native and longtime Detroit Red Wings general manager Ken Holland.

Here’s the full list of inductees:


  • Emily Brydon (skiing)
  • Roy Gerela (football)
  • Kelly McCallum (rugby)
  • Daniel Sedin (hockey)
  • Henrik Sedin (hockey)


  • Darlene Currie (basketball)
  • Ken Holland (hockey)
  • Tony Waiters (soccer)


  • 1968 New Westminster Salmonbellies (lacrosse)


  • Ralph ‘Hunk’ Henderson (basketball/football)

WAC Bennett Award

  • Ron Toigo

There’s a three-year waiting period for the Hockey Hall of Fame, so the Sedins will have to wait until 2021 before they get that call. By virtue of winning gold with Team Sweden at the 2006 Olympics, the Sedins are eligible to be inducted into BC Sports Hall of Fame right away.

Given they put together the two greatest Canucks careers ever, the Sedins are an easy choice.

ā€œCongratulations to this terrific class of 11 individuals and one team spanning eight sports,” said Tom Mayenknecht, Chair of the BC Sports Hall of Fame. “The class of 2019 is another tribute to how British Columbia has become one of the most important sport hubs in Canada. These athletes, coaches, builders, pioneers, and media will be certain to inspire the future.”

All 2019 inductees will be enshrined at the 53rd BC Sports Hall of Fame Induction Gala on May 23. Since 1966, the BC Sports Hall of Fame has inducted 385 individuals and 60 teams.

See also

Rob WilliamsRob Williams

+ Offside
+ Hockey