How NBA championship rings have evolved in the last 25 years (PHOTOS)

Oct 25 2019, 8:09 pm

In the sporting world, there isn’t just one ring that rules them all.

It’s been a long-standing tradition in the world of North American sports for the winning organization to issue rings to the players and coaches of its championship team.

It began with hockey back in 1893 and is now commonplace for not just the NHL, but also the MLB, NFL and NBA.

In the tradition’s humble beginnings, the rings handed out were not much more than the size of a wedding band with a simple design specific to each sport, but over the years that has changed.

Boy, has it ever.

In all four leagues, rings have gotten larger, fancier, and flashier with each ring seeming to one-up its predecessor in an attempt to make more of a statement. With more money in professional sports, there is more spending on things like rings to the point where these things are now worth the same as a down payment on a house.

The Toronto Raptors, who just received their rings for the franchise’s first-ever championship last season, continued this trend with a ring that has set records for size and number of diamonds.

With the Raptors’ historical ring unveiled, let’s take a look back at how it got here with an evolution of NBA championship rings over the past 25 years.

1994 & 1995 – Houston Rockets

1996 – Chicago Bulls

1997 – Chicago Bulls

1998 – Chicago Bulls

1999 – San Antonio Spurs

2000 –Ā Los Angeles Lakers

2001 – Los Angeles Lakers

2002 – Los Angeles Lakers

2003 – San Antonio Spurs

2004 – Detroit Pistons

2005 – San Antonio Spurs

2006 – Miami Heat

2007 – San Antonio Spurs

2008 – Boston Celtics

2009 – Los Angeles Lakers

2010 – Los Angeles Lakers

2011 – Dallas Mavericks

2012 – Miami Heat


View this post on Instagram


Everything you need to know about the 2012 Miami HEAT Championship Ring. 1/2

A post shared by Miami HEAT (@miamiheat) on

2013 – Miami Heat

2014 – San Antonio Spurs

2015 – Golden State Warriors

2016 – Cleveland Cavaliers

2017 – Golden State Warriors

2018 – Golden State Warriors

2019 – Toronto Raptors

Graham CoxGraham Cox

+ Offside
+ Basketball