Canucks prospect Hoglander takes over World Juniors scoring lead

Jan 2 2020, 2:08 pm

With just two days left of competition at the World Junior Championship in the Czech Republic, a Vancouver Canucks prospect sits atop the tournament scoring leaders.

After wowing everybody with a lacrosse-style goal in his first game, Nils Hoglander is proving that he’s more than a one-trick pony at this tournament. The 19-year-old scored two goals and added an assist during Sweden’s 5-0 quarter-final rout over the Czech Republic on Thursday, vaulting him into top spot in tournament scoring.

The Canucks’ second-round pick (40th overall) at last June’s draft, Hoglander now has 10 points (5-5-10) in five games.

world juniors scoring

Nils Hoglander leads the World Juniors in scoring (EliteProspects.com)

Hoglander kept things conventional this time, banging in a rebound for the opening goal of the game on the power play 13:08 into the first period.

The confident youngster added some flash in his celebration though, shushing the pro Czech crowd.

Hoglander scored again in the second period, converting on a one-timer from the slot to give Sweden a 3-0 lead.

His lone assist was a beauty, selling the one-timer on the power play before setting up teammate David Gustafsson for a wide-open net.

If those plays didn’t impress you, perhaps this will — Hoglander made something out of nothing by dangling Czech defenceman Martin Has along the boards, which drew a penalty.

Next up for Sweden is Vasili Podkolzin and Team Russia, who they will play Saturday in the semi-final (9 am ET / 6 am PT on TSN). Podkolzin, Vancouver’s 2019 first-round pick, was held pointless in Russia’s 3-1 quarter-final win over Switzerland. The 18-year-old Russian winger has three points (1-2-3) in five games.

Canada, who beat Slovakia today, will play Finland in the other semi-final (1 pm ET / 10 am PT on TSN). The gold medal game is scheduled for Sunday at 1 pm ET / 10 am PT.