Here are the BC Ferries routes that will deny non-essential travel

Apr 23 2021, 7:06 pm

BC Ferries has outlined how it will enforce the province’s new restrictions barring non-essential travel.

The announcement was made on Friday morning by Minister of Public Safety and Solicitor General Mike Farnworth and is in effect from now until May 25, 2021, which is after the May long weekend.

BC Ferries says that it will now deny customers who are travelling for non-essential reasons on the following routes:

  • Tsawwassen – Swartz Bay
  • Tsawwassen – Duke Point
  • Tsawwassen – Southern Gulf Islands
  • Horseshoe Bay – Departure Bay
  • Comox – Powell River
  • Port Hardy – Prince Rupert

Customers travelling on these routes will be asked if their travel is essential, and their booking will be denied if it is not. Those travelling on ferry routes that operate within the same regional zone will be reminded to avoid non-essential travel.

BC Ferries will not be scheduling additional sailings over the May long weekend. Passengers will also be required to “acknowledge that they are travelling for essential reasons when making a booking.”

“BC Ferries supports doing everything we can to discourage non-essential travel and this
Order gives us the legal authority we need to deny travel for non-essential reasons,” Mark
Collins, BC Ferries’ president and CEO, said in a statement.

“Our employees continue to work hard providing service transporting people, goods and medical supplies to coastal BC communities for essential reasons, and I’m proud of the work they are doing.”

Vincent PlanaVincent Plana

+ News
+ Transportation
+ Urbanized
+ Coronavirus