The Calgary Flames are bringing back their 1989 Stanley Cup jerseys

Sep 21 2018, 4:29 pm

The Calgary Flames are kicking it old school for their third jersey and no, it doesn’t involve a flaming horse.

They’ve selected a look from the Lanny McDonald era – the same one they wore when they lifted the Stanley Cup in 1989.

The NHL did away with third jerseys last year, going with home and away uniforms only for one season following the introduction of Adidas as the league’s official jersey supplier.

Teams are now free to pick an alternate uniform, with many electing to go with a retro look.

The Flames will wear their retros 12 times during the 2018-19 season, beginning against the Vancouver Canucks at the home opener:

  • Saturday, Oct. 6 vs. Vancouver
  • Wednesday, Oct. vs. Boston
  • Saturday, Nov. 3 vs. Chicago
  • Thursday, Nov. 15 vs. Montreal
  • Saturday, Nov. 17 vs. Edmonton
  • Saturday, Dec. 22 vs. St. Louis
  • Saturday, Dec. 29 vs. Vancouver
  • Friday, Jan. 18 vs. Detroit
  • Wednesday, Feb. 20 vs. NYI
  • Monday, Mar. 4 vs. Toronto
  • Friday, Mar. 15 vs. NYR
  • Saturday, Apr. 6 vs. Edmonton

See also
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT