Sedins headline list of new eligible players for Hall of Fame next year

Jun 24 2020, 5:05 pm

Let the campaign begin, Vancouver.

The Hockey Hall of Fame announced the class of 2020 today, meaning that fans and media can now look ahead to 2021.

That’s the first year that Canucks legends Henrik and Daniel Sedin will be eligible for induction, headlining a group of new candidates that includes Henrik Zetterberg and Rick Nash.

The Sedins have a strong case to make for induction, given their longevity and their peak form, which resulted in back-to-back scoring titles, a Hart Trophy, and a Ted Lindsay Award.

But unlike Jarome Iginla, who was a mortal lock heading into this year’s selection, the Sedins don’t have a irrefutable case. Pierre Turgeon, Jeremy Roenick, Bernie Nicholls, Vincent Damphousse, Rod Brind’Amour, Daniel Alfredsson, and Theo Fleury all have more career points than both Henrik (1070 points) and Daniel (1041) and were passed over this year.

But points aren’t everything, and many of the players ahead of the twins accumulated their goals and assists in higher-scoring eras. The Sedins have more career points than Guy Carbonneau (663), who was inducted in 2019, and Martin St. Louis (1033) who was part of the 2018 class, for instance.

Stanley Cups matter to the Hall of Fame selection committee, which is why Kevin Lowe got in this year, and the Sedins came up short in that regard. They do have gold medals from the Olympics and World Championships though, as does their countryman Zetterberg, to go with a Stanley Cup.

With apologies to Mark Messier, Mats Sundin, and Cam Neely, Pavel Bure is the only player in the Hall of Fame best known for his days with the Canucks. The Sedins have a chance to become the first career Canucks to get the call.

Rob WilliamsRob Williams

+ Offside
+ Hockey