Jarome Iginla headlines list of five players picked for Hockey Hall of Fame

Jun 24 2020, 9:44 pm

Six people, including five players and one builder, will be inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame this year.

Jarome Iginla headlines the 2020 class, going in during his first year of eligibility. It’s no surprise the former Calgary Flames captain was picked, given his resume includes 1300 career NHL points, to go along with Art Ross, Ted Lindsay, and Rocket Richard trophies.

“This selection is hard to believe and makes me reflect and look back on my career,” said Iginla. “I was always just trying to make the NHL and this recognition means a lot to me and my family.”

The other selections were less obvious, but included players Marian Hossa, Doug Wilson, Kevin Lowe, and Kim St-Pierre, as well as Ken Holland in the builder’s category.

Hossa, who amassed 1134 points in 1309 NHL games, also gets in on his first ballot. The Slovak native was a key member of three Stanley Cup championship teams with the Chicago Blackhawks.

Wilson has been waiting a long time for his induction, retiring as a player in 1993. The current GM of the San Jose Sharks, Wilson won a Norris Trophy with the Chicago Blackhawks in 1982. He collected 827 points in 1024 career games with the Blackhawks and Sharks.

Lowe appears to be this year’s most controversial pick. The former Edmonton Oilers defenceman never scored more than 46 points in a season, but of course his strength was in the defensive zone. Lowe was a key member of five Stanley Cup winning teams with the Oilers, then won another Cup with the New York Rangers in 1994.

St-Pierre was the lone female player selected. Canada’s longtime starting goalie, St-Pierre won Olympic gold three times as well five World Championship gold medals with the national team during her career.

Ken Holland gets the call in the builder’s category, based on the strength of the teams he built with the Detroit Red Wings. Holland won four Stanley Cups with the Red Wings, including three as the team’s general manager.

As always, there were a number of notable omissions to this year’s class. Players that had a strong case this year included Alexander Mogilny, Daniel Alfredsson, Curtis Joseph, and Theoren Fleury.

Notable players in their first year of eligibility next year include Henrik and Daniel Sedin, as well as Henrik Zetterberg.

Rob WilliamsRob Williams

+ Offside
+ Hockey