Canucks introduce new team award named after Daniel and Henrik Sedin

Jun 24 2020, 10:58 am

They’re the two greatest players in Vancouver Canucks franchise history, and now the Sedins have an award named after them.

The Canucks announced the addition of the “Daniel & Henrik Sedin Award” on Wednesday, which will be added to the team’s annual awards. The new award will be presented to the Canucks player who “best exemplifies outstanding community leadership qualities and humanitarian contributions to his community,” as selected by a penal of Canucks Sports and Entertainment members.

“Community has always been a core value of the Canucks organization and has been brought to life through incredible ambassadors, like Daniel and Henrik Sedin,” said Canucks COO Trent Carroll. “They were two individuals that always went above and beyond for others and, with the introduction of the ‘Daniel & Henrik Sedin Award,’ we intend to honour and inspire acts of generosity and contributions in the community for generations to come.”

Typically announced before the last home game of the regular season, the Canucks will announce winners on the week of July 6. Fans can vote on four of the awards online through the Canucks website, including the awards for MVP, Best Defenceman, Most Exciting Player, and Unsung Hero.

Here’s the full list of team awards:

  • Daniel & Henrik Sedin Award (Community Leadership)
  • Cyclone Taylor Trophy (Most Valuable Player)
  • Walter (Babe) Pratt Trophy (Best Defenceman)
  • Pavel Bure Award (Most Exciting Player)
  • Fred J. Hume Award (Unsung Hero)
  • Three Star Award Award (Most Three Stars Selections)
  • Cyrus H. McLean Trophy (Leading Scorer)
Rob WilliamsRob Williams

+ Offside
+ Hockey