These are all the mayors in Metro Vancouver not seeking re-election this fall

Apr 12 2018, 3:39 am

On Tuesday night, Surrey Mayor Linda Hepner officially announced she would not be seeking another term in this year’s upcoming municipal election.

After being elected to Surrey City Council in 2005, and as mayor in 2014, the one-term mayor cited her desire to spend more time with friends and family as reasons for the decision.

And while her announcement was big news for the city’s political landscape, Hepner is far from the first mayor in the region’s 21 municipalities to formally declare she’s not putting her name on the ballot.

From Maple Ridge to White Rock, and points in between – including Vancouver – numerous mayors will not be trying to court voters’ favour any longer. Those not running for the mayor’s seat this year include:

Vancouver Mayor Gregor Robertson

Vancouver Mayor Gregor Robertson said the city is on track to fulfilling its fossil fuel-free goal. (Jenni Sheppard/Daily Hive)

Vancouver Mayor Gregor Robertson (Daily Hive)

After nearly a decade as Mayor of Vancouver, Gregor Robertson is calling it quits and will not be running for re-election in the fall municipal election.

Robertson’s tenure as mayor is longest consecutive run as Mayor in Vancouver’s history. He announced his decision in January of this year.

City of North Vancouver Mayor Darrell Mussatto

A councillor for 13 years and a mayor for 12, Darell Mussatto called his time in municipal politics “an incredible experience” and said it was an honour and a privilege to serve the community.

He made the announcement in early March, via a message on the city’s website.

District of North Vancouver Mayor Richard Walton

Richard Walton

District of North Vancouver Mayor Walton (Facebook)

After first being elected mayor in 2005, and with 23 years of public service under his belt, District of North Vancouver Mayor Richard Walton announced at the end of March he would not seek re-election this year.

“With the Maplewood Area Plan almost complete, we finally have in place the last building block anticipated in our 2011 Official Community Plan. This is a logical time to step aside,” he said.

Surrey Mayor Linda Hepner

linda hepner

Linda Hepner (City of Surrey)

After becoming Mayor of Surrey in 2014, Linda Hepner is calling it quits, saying she will not be seeking re-election in this fall’s municipal election.

Hepner has been in public service for over three decades, beginning as the city’s corporate manager in 1985 before being elected to Surrey City Council in 2005. She served three terms on council before being elected as mayor.

White Rock Mayor Wayne Baldwin

Wayne Baldwin

Wayne Baldwin (

After 30 years in the public service – 23 years as the City Manager and 7 years as mayor – Wayne Baldwin announced in January of this year that he will not seek re-election this fall.

“After being elected to a second term as Mayor of White Rock, in December of 2014, I made the decision that this term was going to be my last term in office,” he said.

Maple Ridge Mayor Nicole Read

Nicole Read (City of Maple Ridge)

Maple Ridge Mayor Nicole Read

With no prior experience in municipal politics, Nicole Read was elected mayor of Maple Ridge in 2014.

She announced her decision not to seek re-election almost a full year before this year’s election, going public with her decision in October of 2017.

Port Coquitlam Mayor Greg Moore

Greg Moore

Greg Moore (Facebook)

After six years as a City Councillor, a decade as Mayor, and seven years as Metro Vancouver Board Chair, Port Coquitlam Mayor Greg Moore also announced last fall he would not seek re-election this year.

“I came into this realm of work as the youngest mayor in Port Coquitlam history and the youngest Chairperson in Metro Vancouver’s history,” Moore said in his announcement. “I leave the legacy of being the third longest-serving mayor in Port Coquitlam and longest-serving Chairperson in Metro Vancouver.”

Delta Mayor Lois Jackson

Delta Mayor Lois Jackson

Delta Mayor Lois Jackson (Facebook)

After sitting in the mayor’s seat since 1999, Delta Mayor Lois Jackson announced she won’t seek re-election this year.

Langley City Mayor Ted Schaffer

Ted Schaffer

Ted Schaffer (Facebook)

Longtime Langley City politician Ted Schaffer announced in a statement to city council late last fall he would not seek re-election this year.

Schaffer first entered municipal politics in 1990 and served until 2008, before taking a three-year break and then coming back.

Schaffer cited his health and the desire to spend more time with his family as reasons for his decision.

See also
Eric ZimmerEric Zimmer

+ News
+ Politics