BC Liberal Jas Johal loses seat to NDP's Aman Singh in Richmond-Queensborough

Oct 25 2020, 5:20 am

Aman Singh of the NDP has been elected as the new MLA in Richmond-Queensborough, a riding previously held by the BC Liberal Party.

Singh won 3,863 out of 8,286 counted votes (46.62%) with 69 of 88 polls reporting. Jas Johal of the  BC Liberal Party won 3,288 votes (39.68 %). Earl Einarson of the Green party won 612 votes (7.39%). Kay Hale of the Conservative party won 523 votes (6.31 %).

As of 10:17 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC  Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of October 23, 6,794 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 35,146 registered voters in Richmond-Queensborough.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

The Canadian PressThe Canadian Press

+ News
+ Politics