Henrik and Daniel Sedin named finalists for NHL's King Clancy Trophy

May 2 2018, 10:55 pm

Henrik and Daniel Sedin have played their final game in the NHL, but they’re not done adding to their resume.

The Sedins, being treated as a single entity apparently, are one of three finalists for the award, the NHL announced on Wednesday. Nashville’s PK Subban and Minnesota’s Jason Zucker are the other two players being considered for the award.

The King Clancy Memorial Trophy is awarded annually “to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.”

If you’re reading this in Vancouver, you don’t need an explanation as to why Henrik and Daniel are nominated.

Famous for their humility and generosity, the Sedins donated $1.5 million to BC Children’s Hospital back in 2010. They’ve also donated their time throughout their careers, spending countless hours with sick children in hospitals and Canuck Place. The twins have also visited countless elementary schools and set up their own charity, the Sedin Family Foundation.

Henrik was the Canucks’ captain for eight seasons, with brother Daniel serving as the team’s assistant captain for the same period of time. They established themselves as great leaders with their teammates, as well as with the media, taking ownership for the team during times of success and failure.

That last part would seem important for this award, as the winner will be chosen by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association and the NHL Broadcasters’ Association.

The Sedins leave the game as the top-two scorers in Canucks history, and a good bet to become the first-ever career-Canucks to enter the Hall of Fame.

The award will be presented at the NHL Awards in Las Vegas on June 20, with the winner receiving a $40,000 donation from the league to benefit a charity of his/their choice. The runners-up will each receive a $5,000 donation from the National Hockey League Foundation to benefit a charity of their choice.

Should the Sedins win the award, it would be the third time a Canucks player has taken home the trophy. Trevor Linden won in 1997, while Henrik was named the winner two years ago.

See also
Rob WilliamsRob Williams

+ Offside
+ Hockey