Pavel Bure named one of NHL's 100 greatest players

Jan 28 2017, 11:31 am

Pavel Bure has been named as one of the NHL’s greatest 100 players of all-time at the NHL 100 celebration in Los Angeles on Friday.

The NHL unveiled the list of top 100 players (in no particular order) as part of the league’s 100-year anniversary. The unveiling took place in Los Angeles as part of NHL All-Star Weekend.

It was an unprecedented gathering of the best players of all-time, which included the presence of Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, and Bobby Orr.

“Honestly, speaking on behalf of the 100 players who are really fortunate to be here and be part of the National Hockey League, it’s a privilege to play the game, and we’re all fortunate enough that we’re part of this 100,” Wayne Gretzky said. “We’re all like young kids, we’re all thrilled to be here, and it’s a great honour.

Bure, who lives in Russia, was not in attendance.

The most exciting player to ever suit up for the Vancouver Canucks was named as one of the best wingers from the 1990s, along with Brett Hull, Luc Robitaille, and Brendan Shanahan.

The only player in the Hockey Hall of Fame because of his play on the ice with the Vancouver Canucks, Bure belongs on this list. The Russian Rocket scored 779 points (437-342-779) in 702 career games. Bure scored more than 50 goals in a season fives times in his career, including back-to-back 60-goal seasons with the Canucks in the early 1990s.

Two other former Canucks have been named to the list – Mark Messier and Mats Sundin – although their play with other teams was the main reason why they cracked the top-100. Current Canucks Henrik and Daniel Sedin, as well as former Canuck Roberto Luongo, were likely close to cracking the top-100, but did not make the list.

See also

Here’s the full list:


Sidney Crosby
Patrick Kane
Duncan Keith
Alex Ovechkin
Jonathan Toews
Jaromir Jagr


Martin Brodeur
Pavel Datsyuk
Nicklas Lidstrom
Chris Pronger
Teemu Selanne


Sergei Fedorov
Peter Forsberg
Ron Francis
Mario Lemieux
Eric Lindros
Mike Modano
Joe Nieuwendyk
Adam Oates
Joe Sakic
Mats Sundin
Steve Yzerman
Pavel Bure
Brett Hull
Luc Robitaille
Brendan Shanahan
Dominik Hasek
Patrick Roy
Chris Chelios
Brian Leetch
Scott Niedermayer
Scott Stevens


Grant Fuhr
Billy Smith
Ray Bourque
Paul Coffey
Al MacInnis
Denis Potvin
Borje Salming
Wayne Gretzky
Pat LaFontaine
Mark Messier
Denis Savard
Peter Stastny
Bryan Trottier
Mike Bossy
Mike Gartner
Jari Kurri


Bobby Clarke
Marcel Dionne
Phil Esposito
Jacques Lemaire
Stan Mikita
Gilbert Perreault
Jean Ratelle
Darryl Sittler
Yvan Cournoyer
Bob Gainey
Bobby Hull
Guy Lafleur
Ken Dryden
Tony Esposito
Bernie Parent
Bobby Orr
Brad Park
Larry Robinson
Serge Savard


Sid Abel
Syl Apps
Andy Bathgate
Jean Beliveau
Max Bentley
Toe Blake
Johnny Bower
Turk Broda
Johnny Bucyk
King Clancy
Charlie Conacher
Alex Delvecchio
Bill Durnan
Bernie Geoffrion
Glenn Hall
Doug Harvey
Tim Horton
Gordie Howe
Red Kelly
Ted Kennedy
Dave Keon
Elmer Lach
Ted Lindsay
Frank Mahovlich
Dickie Moore
Howie Morenz
Jacques Plante
Henri Richard
Maurice Richard
Terry Sawchuk
Milt Schmidt
Eddie Shore
Georges Vezina
Rob WilliamsRob Williams

+ Offside
+ Hockey