What you need to know about last night's election in Toronto

Oct 23 2018, 2:53 am

Things are changing in Toronto, as last night’s election resulted in a surprising twist with a new council.

Polls were open from 10 am to 8 pm yesterday at 50 locations across the city, and when all was said and done, here are some of last night’s most important results.

John Tory re-elected as Mayor of Toronto in landslide win

Tory defeated former chief city planner Jennifer Keesmaat and 33 other mayoral contenders in a whirlwind election campaign.

A former Ontario Progressive Conservative party leader from 2004 to 2009, Tory defeated Doug Ford and Olivia Chow for the mayoral seat in 2014.

He is the 65th mayor of Toronto.

Toronto’s new 25-ward City Council

Ward 1 Etobicoke North: Michael Ford
Ward 2 Etobicoke Centre: Stephen Holyday
Ward 3 Etobicoke-Lakeshore: Mark Grimes
Ward 4 Parkdale-High Park: Gord Perks
Ward 5 York South-Weston: Frances Nunziata
Ward 6 York Centre: James Pasternak
Ward 7 Humber River-Black Creek: Anthony Perruzza
Ward 8 Eglinton-Lawrence: Mike Colle
Ward 9 Davenport: Ana Bailao
Ward 10 Spadina-Fort York: Joe Cressy
Ward 11 University-Rosedale: Mike Layton
Ward 12 Toronto-St. Paul’s: Josh Matlow
Ward 13 Toronto Centre: Kristyn Wong-Tam
Ward 14 Toronto-Danforth: Paula Fletcher
Ward 15 Don Valley West: Jaye Robinson
Ward 16 Don Valley East: Denzil Minnan-Wong
Ward 17 Don Valley North: Shelley Carroll
Ward 18 Willowdale: John Filion
Ward 19 Beaches-East York: Bard Bradford
Ward 20 Scarborough Southwest: Gary Crawford
Ward 21 Scarborough Centre: Michael Thompson
Ward 22 Scarborough-Agincourt: Jim Karygiannis
Ward 23 Scarborough North: Cynthia Lai
Ward 24 Scarborough-Guildwood: Paul Ainslie
Ward 25 Scarborough-Rouge Park: Jennifer McKelvie

Controversial Toronto City Councillor ousted from long term seat

Long-time Toronto City Councillor for Ward 7 Giorgio Mammiliti was ousted by Anthony Perruzza, who had 37% of the votes, while Mammoliti came in second with 24%.

6ix Dad no more: Norm Kelly loses his Scarborough seat

Toronto’s famed City Councillor Norm Kelly also lost his seat.

The long-standing Councillor was ousted by fellow councillor Jim Karygiannis as they battled for the city’s Ward 22 seat. After wards 39 and 40 were combined to create the new Ward 22 Scarborough–Agincourt for this election, the two – who previously represented different wards – went head to head.

Controversial mayoral candidate Faith Goldy coming in third

In a surprising turn of events, controversial mayoral candidate Faith Goldy has come in third in the 2018 municipal election, behind Jennifer Keesmaat and incumbent John Tory respectively.

Goldy, who has been referred to as a white nationalist and far-right candidate, was ousted from debates throughout the election, and major media outlets refused to run her campaign ads.

In the end, Goldy received 3.40% of the votes, well over 10,000 votes ahead of progressive candidate Saron Gebresellassi.

See also
DH Toronto StaffDH Toronto Staff

+ News
+ Politics