Maple Leafs name John Tavares captain in pre-game ceremony

Oct 2 2019, 11:11 pm

For the first time since Dion Phaneuf was traded in 2016, the Toronto Maple Leafs have a captain.

John Tavares was announced as the new team captain in dramatic fashion, before the Leafs’ home opener. He’s the 25th captain in the history of the team.

Alternate captains were also revealed, as Mitch Marner, Auston Matthews, and Morgan Rielly will wear A’s.

While fans and media found out during player introductions, Tavares got the news from his newborn baby.

At one time, fans and media assumed the Leafs were going captain-less while they waited for Matthews to mature into the role. That assumption turned into a debate ever since the team signed Tavares as a free agent last year. Tavares has been a captain before, wearing the C for the New York Islanders for five seasons.

Here’s a list of all-time Leafs captains:

Captain Season(s)
Ken Randall 1917-18 to 1918-19
Frank Heffernan 1919-20
Reg Noble 1920-21 to 1921-22
Jack Adams 1922-23 to 1923-24
John Ross Roach 1924-25
Babe Dye 1925-26
Bert Corbeau 1926-27, 1927
Clarence ā€˜Hapā€™ Day 1927-28 to 1936-37
Red Horner 1938-39 to 1939-40
Syl Apps* 1940-41 to 1942-43
Bob Davidson 1943-44 to 1944-45
Syl Apps* 1945-46 to 1947-48
Ted Kennedy* 1948-49 to 1954-55
Sid Smith 1955-56
Ted Kennedy* and Jim Thomson 1956-57
George Armstrong 1957-58 to 1968-69
Darryl Sittler 1975-76 to 1980-81
Rick Vaive 1981-82 to 1985-86
Rob Ramage 1989-90 to 1990-91
Wendel Clark 1991-92 to 1993-94
Doug Gilmour 1994-95 to 1996-97
Mats Sundin 1997-98 to 2007-08
Dion Phaneuf 2010-11 to 2015-16
John Tavares 2019-20 to Present

Rob WilliamsRob Williams

+ Offside
+ Hockey