These are the prominent winners and losers in the federal election

Oct 22 2019, 4:44 am

Tune in to Daily Hive’s federal election live blog throughout the night here.

People’s Party of Canada Leader Maxime Bernier was upset in his Beauce riding by Conservative Richard Lehoux.

Liberal stalwart Ralph Goodale, first elected in 1974 and most recently public safety minister in Justin Trudeau’s cabinet, fell to Conservative Michael Kram in Regina-Wascana.

Amarjeet Sohi, natural resources minister under Trudeau, was defeated in Edmonton Mill Woods by Conservative Tim Uppal, a former MP.

In Calgary Centre, Conservative Greg McLean defeated former Liberal cabinet minister Kent Hehr.

Conservative Lisa Raitt, who served as deputy leader of the Opposition, could not outpaddle Olympic gold-medal kayaker Adam van Koeverden in Ontario’s Milton riding.

Jack Harris, who held the Newfoundland seat of St. John’s East for the NDP from 2008 to 2015, made a comeback, winning over Liberal incumbent Nick Whalen.

Rob Moore, MP in the New Brunswick riding of Fundy Royal for the Conservatives from 2004 to 2015, took the seat back from Liberal incumbent Alaina Lockhart.

In New Brunswick Southwest, former MP John Williamson came charging back for the Conservatives, reclaiming the riding from Liberal Karen Ludwig.

Jane Philpott, who quit the Liberal cabinet on principle over the government’s handling of the SNC-Lavalin controversy, failed to win as an Independent in Ontario’s Markham-Stouffville.

The Greens made a breakthrough in Atlantic Canada with Jenica Atwin’s victory in Fredericton over Liberal incumbent Matt DeCourcey.

Greg Malone, who made his name in the sketch-comedy TV series CODCO, failed to win a seat for the Greens in the Newfoundland riding of Avalon, taken by the Liberals.

Tune in to Daily Hive’s federal election live blog throughout the night here.


The Canadian PressThe Canadian Press

+ News
+ Politics