Visitors from these countries are now permitted to travel to Lithuania

Jun 4 2020, 6:12 pm

After being in lockdown since mid-March, the government of Lithuania is easing restrictions and has approved for travellers from outside European countries to enter the Republic without having to quarantine for 14 days upon their arrival.

Similar to the current policies in Estonia, Lithuania is permitting arrivals from these countries contingent on the rule that they possess less than 15 COVID-19 cases per 100,000 people in the last two weeks.

Travellers from the following countries are considered “safe” to visit the Republic as of June 1:

  • Austria
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • the Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Luxembourg
  • The Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Switzerland

The list of approved countries will be updated every Monday by the country’s State Commander of National Emergency Operations.

The country has been under lockdown since March 16 due to the coronavirus pandemic and has been gradually lifting various health and safety restrictions as infection rates decrease.

It has resumed scheduled flights to Latvia, Estonia, Germany, Norway, and the Netherlands. As well, on June 3, its government approved to resume scheduled flights to Paris, Copenhagen, Billund, Nice, and Turku.

However, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs advises against any unnecessary travel to Ireland, Spain, and Malta, where the number of coronavirus cases remains above the 15 per 100,000 thresholds over the past 14 days. As well, travel remains prohibited from Belgium, Sweden, Portugal, and the United Kingdom, where numbers exceed 25 cases per 100,000 people, Lithuania’s government website explains.

The people of Lithuania are no longer required to wear face masks when venturing outdoors or inside hotels, restaurants, and other open businesses. Events hosted both indoors and outdoors are now permitted with limited occupancy.

“The country’s quarantine regime is still in effect until June 16,” the site explains.

Emily RumballEmily Rumball

+ Travel News
+ Mapped