Sportsnet announces changes to Flames broadcast team

Aug 27 2018, 6:52 pm

Calgary Flames games will look different on television next season.

Following the retirement of long-tenured broadcaster Roger Millions, Sportsnet has announced changes for the 43 regional games they will cover in 2018-19.

New host Ryan Leslie replaces Millions as the rink-side reporter, while former Calgary Sun writer Eric Francis joins as a analyst.

A divisive figure, Francis’ addition sparked controversy all over social media.

eric francis reddit

Image: Reddit

eric francis reddit

Image: Reddit

In addition to the 43 regional broadcasts, Sportsnet will cover the remaining 39 regular season games nationally.

Below is the complete broadcasting schedule:

October 2018
• Wednesday, Oct. 3, Calgary @ Vancouver, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)
• Saturday, Oct. 6, Vancouver @ Calgary, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
• Tuesday, Oct. 9, Calgary @ Nashville, 6 p.m. MT / 8 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Flames)
• Thursday, Oct. 11, Calgary @ St. Louis, 6 p.m. MT / 8 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Flames)
• Saturday, Oct. 13, Calgary @ Colorado, 8 p.m. ET / 10 p.m. PT (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
• Wednesday, Oct. 17, Boston @ Calgary, 7:30 p.m. MT / 9:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet 360)
• Friday, Oct. 19, Nashville @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet 360)
• Sunday, Oct. 21, Calgary @ N.Y. Rangers, 4:30 p.m. MT / 6:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE & Sportsnet 360)
• Tuesday, Oct. 23, Calgary @ Montreal, 5:30 p.m. MT / 7:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Flames)
• Thursday, Oct. 25, Pittsburgh @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Saturday, Oct. 27, Washington @ Calgary, 2 p.m. MT / 4 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)
• Monday, Oct. 29, Calgary @ Toronto, 4:30 p.m. MT / 6:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)
• Tuesday, Oct. 30, Calgary @ Buffalo, 5 p.m. MT / 7 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Flames)

November 2018
• Thursday, Nov. 1, Colorado @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)
• Saturday, Nov. 3, Chicago @ Calgary, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
• Wednesday, Nov. 7, Calgary @ Anaheim, 8:30 p.m. MT / 10:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Saturday, Nov. 10, Calgary @ Los Angeles, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
• Sunday, Nov. 11, Calgary @ San Jose, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet 360)
• Thursday, Nov. 15, Montreal @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Saturday, Nov. 17, Edmonton @ Calgary, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
• Monday, Nov. 19, Vegas @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Wednesday, Nov. 21, Winnipeg @ Calgary, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)
• Friday, Nov. 23, Calgary @ Vegas, 4 p.m. MT / 6 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)
• Sunday, Nov. 25, Calgary @ Arizona, 12:30 p.m. MT / 2:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)
• Wednesday, Nov. 28, Dallas @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)
• Friday, Nov. 30, Los Angeles @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

December 2018
• Sunday, Dec. 2, Calgary @ Chicago, 5 p.m. MT / 7 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Tuesday, Dec. 4, Calgary @ Columbus, 5 p.m. MT / 7 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Thursday, Dec. 6, Minnesota @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Saturday, Dec. 8, Nashville @ Calgary, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
• Sunday, Dec. 9, Calgary @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)
• Wednesday, Dec. 12, Philadelphia @ Calgary, 6 p.m. MT / 8 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)
• Saturday, Dec. 15, Calgary @ Minnesota, 11:30 a.m. MT / 1:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Sunday, Dec. 16, Calgary @ St. Louis, 1 p.m. MT / 3 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Tuesday, Dec. 18, Calgary @ Dallas, 6:30 p.m. MT / 8:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Thursday, Dec. 20, Tampa @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Saturday, Dec. 22, St. Louis @ Calgary, 2 p.m. p.m. MT / 4 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Thursday, Dec. 27, Calgary @ Winnipeg, 6 p.m. MT / 8 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Saturday, Dec. 29, Vancouver @ Calgary, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
• Monday, Dec. 31, San Jose @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)

January 2019
• Wednesday, Jan. 2, Calgary @ Detroit, 5 p.m. MT / 7 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Thursday, Jan. 3, Calgary @ Boston, 5 p.m. MT / 7 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Saturday, Jan. 5, Calgary @ Philadelphia, 11 a.m. MT / 1 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Monday, Jan. 7, Calgary @ Chicago, 6:30 p.m. MT / 8:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Wednesday, Jan. 9, Colorado @ Calgary, 7:30 p.m. MT / 9:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Friday, Jan. 11, Florida @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Sunday, Jan. 13, Arizona @ Calgary, 7:30 p.m. MT / 9:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)
• Wednesday, Jan. 16, Buffalo @ Calgary, 7:30 p.m. MT / 9:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)
• Friday, Jan. 18, Detroit @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Saturday, Jan. 19, Calgary @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
• Tuesday, Jan. 22, Carolina @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

February 2019
• Friday, Feb.1, Calgary @ Washington, 5 p.m. MT / 7 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Sunday, Feb. 3, Calgary @ Carolina, Noon MT / 2 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)
• Thursday, Feb. 7, San Jose @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)
• Saturday, Feb. 9 – Calgary @ Vancouver, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada)
• Tuesday, Feb. 12, Calgary @ Tampa, 5:30 p.m. MT / 7:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Thursday, Feb. 14, Calgary @ Florida, 5 p.m. MT / 7 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Saturday, Feb. 16, Calgary @ Pittsburgh, 11 a.m. MT / 1 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Monday, Feb. 18, Arizona @ Calgary, 2 p.m. MT / 4 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Wednesday, Feb. 20, N.Y. Islanders @ Calgary, 7:30 p.m. MT / 9:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)
• Friday, Feb. 22, Anaheim @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Sunday, Feb. 24, Calgary @ Ottawa, 4:30 p.m. MT / 6:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)
• Tuesday, Feb. 26, Calgary @ N.Y. Islanders, 5 p.m. MT / 7 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Wednesday, Feb. 27, Calgary @ New Jersey, 5 p.m. MT / 7 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)

March 2019
• Saturday, March 2, Minnesota @ Calgary, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
• Monday, March 4, Toronto @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Wednesday, March 6, Calgary @ Vegas, 8:30 p.m. MT / 10:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)
• Thursday, March 7, Calgary @ Arizona, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Flames)
• Sunday, March 10, Vegas @ Calgary, 7:30 p.m. MT / 9:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)
• Tuesday, March 12, New Jersey @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Friday, March 15, N.Y. Rangers @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Saturday, March 16, Calgary @ Winnipeg, 4:30 p.m. MT / 6:30 p.m. MT (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
• Tuesday, March 19, Columbus @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Thursday, March 21, Ottawa @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Saturday, March 23, Calgary @ Vancouver, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
• Monday, March 25, Los Angeles @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet)
• Wednesday, March 27, Dallas @ Calgary, 7:30 p.m. MT / 9:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)
• Friday, March 29, Anaheim @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Sunday, March 31, Calgary @ San Jose, 5:30 p.m. MT / 7:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)

April 2019
• Monday, April 1, Calgary @ Los Angeles, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Wednesday, April 3, Calgary @ Anaheim, 8:30 p.m. MT / 10:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)
• Saturday, April 6, Edmonton @ Calgary, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

See also