Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
Hockey, Sports

NHL announces schedule for second round of Stanley Cup playoffs

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams Apr 24, 2019 9:59 pm

Win or lose, game days are more delicious with Uber Eats. Download the Uber Eats app today to order the meals you love from your favourite restaurants. Let’s Eats, sports fans!


The most unpredictable first round ever in the history of the Stanley Cup playoffs has come to an end.

What a wild couple of weeks it has been.

For the first time ever, the second round won’t feature a single division winner, as the Carolina Hurricanes upset the defending Stanley Cup champions in double overtime of Game 7 on Wednesday. And wouldn’t you know it, ‘Mr. Game 7’ himself, Justin Williams assisted on the winning goal.

The Washington Capitals were the only division winner to even win three games this spring, as the Nashville Predators (lost in six games to Dallas), Calgary Flames (lost in five games to Colorado) and Tampa Bay Lightning (lost in four games to Columbus) all suffered shocking playoff exits.

After defeating the Winnipeg Jets in Round 1, the St Louis Blues will have home ice advantage against the Dallas Stars in the Central Division Final. They begin their series on Thursday.

See also

Also beginning right away are the Columbus Blue Jackets, who haven’t played a game in over a week. They’ll begin on the road in Boston, against a Bruins team coming off a seven-game series victory over the Toronto Maple Leafs.

The other two series begin on Friday. The surprising Colorado Avalanche will start on the road in San Jose, against a Sharks team that just completed perhaps the greatest Game 7 comeback victory in NHL history.

The Carolina Hurricanes have no time to rest before their series against the New York Islanders, which begins in Brooklyn. The Islanders are well rested, having completed their sweep of the Pittsburgh Penguins nine days ago.

Here’s the second round schedule:

Eastern Conference

Columbus Blue Jackets vs Boston Bruins

Game 1 Thu, April 25 Columbus @ Boston, 7 pm ET / 4 pm PT
Game 2 Sat, April 27 Columbus @ Boston, 8 pm ET / 5 pm PT
Game 3 Tue, April 30 Boston @ Columbus, 7 pm ET / 4 pm PT
Game 4 Thu, May 2 Boston @ Columbus, 7:30 pm ET / 4:30 pm PT
Game 5 Sat, May 4 Columbus @ Boston, TBD
Game 6 Mon, May 6 Boston @ Columbus, TBD
Game 7 Wed, May 8 Columbus @ Boston, TBD

Carolina Hurricanes vs New York Islanders

Game 1 Fri, April 26 Carolina @ NY Islanders, 7 pm ET / 4 pm PT
Game 2 Sun, April 28 Carolina @ NY Islanders, 3 pm ET / 12 PT
Game 3 Wed, May 1 NY Islanders @ Carolina, 7 pm ET / 4 pm PT
Game 4 Fri, May 3 NY Islanders @ Carolina, 7 pm ET / 4 pm PT
Game 5 Sun, May 5 Carolina @ NY Islanders, TBD
Game 6 Tue, May 7 NY Islanders @ Carolina, TBD
Game 7 Thu, May 9 Carolina @ NY Islanders, TBD

Western Conference

Colorado Avalanche vs San Jose Sharks

Game 1 Fri, April 26 Colorado @ San Jose, 10 pm ET / 7 pm PT
Game 2 Sun, April 28 Colorado @ San Jose, 7:30 pm ET / 4:30 pm PT
Game 3 Tue, April 30 San Jose @ Colorado, 10 pm ET / 7 pm PT
Game 4 Thu, May 2 San Jose @ Colorado, 10 pm ET / 7 pm PT
Game 5 Sat, May 4 Colorado @ San Jose, TBD
Game 6 Mon, May 6 San Jose @ Colorado, TBD
Game 7 Wed, May 8 Colorado @ San Jose, TBD

Dallas Stars vs St Louis Blues

Game 1 Thu, April 25 Dallas @ St. Louis, 9:30 pm ET / 6:30 pm PT
Game 2 Sat, April 27 Dallas @ St. Louis, 3 pm ET / 12 PT
Game 3 Mon, April 29 St. Louis @ Dallas, 8 pm ET / 5 pm PT
Game 4 Wed, May 1 St. Louis @ Dallas, 9:30 pm ET / 6:30 pm PT
Game 5 Fri, May 3 Dallas @ St. Louis, TBD
Game 6 Sun, May 5 St. Louis @ Dallas, TBD
Game 7 Tue, May 7 Dallas @ St. Louis, TBD

Learn more about Content Funding at Daily Hive

© 2019 Buzz Connected Media Inc.