94 Calgary schools currently have coronavirus outbreaks

Dec 15 2020, 9:00 pm

A total of 73 Calgary schools are facing coronavirus outbreaks, 45 of which are under a watch.

The Province of Alberta’s website shows that:

Lester B. Pearson High School, Nelson Mandela High School, Central Memorial High School, John G Diefenbaker High School, St. Francis High School, Chief Justice Milvain School, Crossing Park School, St. Mary’s High School, All Saints School, Northeast Elementary Campus, Sir Winston Churchill High School, Western Canada High School, Manmeet Singh Bhullar School, Nose Creek School, Gobind Sarvar School, St. Jerome Elementary School, Ernest Manning High School, Joane Cardinal-Schubert High School, Bishop Grandin High School, Bishop O’Byrne High School, St. Augustine Elementary Junior High School, FFCA High School Campus, Henry Wise High School, Centennial High School, Fairview School, Crescent Heights High School, Dr. George Stanley School, St. Bede Elementary School, Almadina Language Charter Academy Ogden Campus, Notre Dame High School, Chinook Park School, Calgary Islamic School Omar Bin Al-Khattab Campus, Glamorgan School, Lord Beaverbrook High School, St. Isabella School, St. Elizabeth Seton, St. Martha School, Sir Wilfrid Laurier School, North Middle School Campus, Delta West Academy, St. Mark Elementary School, Our Lady Fatima, Peter Lougheed School, Bearspaw Christian School and College, and St. Margaret School are all under a watch.

A “watch” means that the school remains open but is being monitored by the province and Alberta Health Service. Additional health measures may be in place to control the spread of coronavirus within the school.

Forty-nine other Calgary schools – Woodman School, CLS Lord Beaverbrook Writing Centre, Panorama Hills School, Renfrew Educational Services-Janice McTighe Centre, James Fowler High School, Balmoral School, Kenneth D. Taylor School, Hugh A. Bennett School, Thomas B. Riley School, William D. Pratt School, Ted Harrison School, Cranston School, Taradale School, St. Alphonsus Elementary Junior High School, Christine Meikle School, Apostles of Jesus, Falconridge School, CLS James Howler Writing Centre, Louise Dean School, Bob Edwards School, Samuel W. Shaw School, Battalion Park School, Colonel J. Fred Scott School, South Middle School Campus, University School Our Lady of Grace School, Dr. Roberta Bondar School, Monsignor J.S. Smith School, Wildwood School, Sacred Heart Elementary School, Griffith Woods School, Our Lady of the Evergreens Catholic School, Twelve Mile Coulee School, Woodbine School, Prince of Peace School, Master’s College, St. John Henry Newman School, Captain Nichola Goddard School, Monterey Park School, MAC Islamic School – Calgary Chapter, Ethel M. Johnson School, King George School, St. Joseph Elementary Junior High School, Belvedere Parkway School, Saddleridge School, Beddington Heights School, Our Lady of the Assumption School, and St. Maria Goretti Elementary School – are experiencing outbreaks.

According to the province, an outbreak is defined as two or more detected cases.

An outbreak of this size also means that parents may have received an alert from the school and that Alberta Health Services could be working with the schools.

Edmonton has 32 schools under watch and outbreaks at a total of 29.

Chandler WalterChandler Walter

+ News
+ Coronavirus