How TSN and Sportsnet stack up for NHL trade deadline coverage this year

Apr 9 2021, 7:18 pm

The NHL trade deadline is fast approaching.

Due to the pandemic causing a delayed and shortened season, the deadline will be happening later than usual this year, on Monday, April 12, and all trades must be completed by 3 pm ET/12 pm PT.

NHL teams could make some very intriguing trades before the deadline as they look to boost their chances to win the Stanley Cup.

As for how many deals will happen before the deadline, last season 45% of all in-season trades took place on trade deadline day. However, a stagnant salary cap and the upcoming expansion draft of the Seattle Kraken have some expecting fewer moves this year.

In Canada, both TSN and Sportsnet will be running their own trade deadline specials. TSN  will begin their coverage at 8 am ET/5 am PT, running until 5 pm ET/2 pm PT. Sportsnet will begin their coverage at 12 pm ET/9 am PT, running until 5 pm ET/2 pm PT.

Here’s how each network stacks up, according to their published previews.

TSN:

  • Host: James Duthie
  • Trade breakers: Gord Miller, Bob McKenzie, Darren Dreger, Pierre LeBrun, Frank Seravalli
  • Instant analysis panel: Ray Ferraro, Jeff O’Neill, Dave Poulin, Craig Button
  • Deadline panel: Gino Reda, Jamie McLennan, Martin Biron, Kevin Weekes
  • Viewpoint panel: Carlo Colaiacovo, Bryan Hayes, Mike Johnson
  • Trade bait: Mike Johnson
  • Special contributor: Jim Rutherford
  • Segment hosts: Tessa Bonhomme, Glenn Schiiler
  • Contributors: Lindsay Hamilton, Kristen Shilton, Bruce Garrioch, Cheryl Pounder, Renata Fast
  • BarDown contributors: Daniel Zakrzewski and Corwin McCallum
  • Updates: Jennifer Hedger
  • Reporters: Farhan Lalji (Vancouver), John Lu (Montreal), Mark Masters (Toronto), Sara Orlesky (Winnipeg), Ryan Rishaug (Edmonton), Salim Valji (Calgary)

Sportsnet

  • Hosts: Jeff Marek, David Amber
  • Panelists: Kevin Bieksa, Cassie Campbell-Pascall, Kelly Hrudey, Jennifer Botterill, Colby Armstrong, Anthony Stewart, Kris Versteeg
  • Insiders: Elliotte Friedman, Chris Johnston
  • Analytics: Justin Bourne
  • Draft details: Sam Cosentino
  • Reporters: Eric Engels (Montreal), Shawn McKenzie (Toronto), Kyle Bukauskas (Ottawa), Sean Reynolds (Winnipeg), Eric Francis (Calgary), Ryan Leslie (Calgary), Gene Principe (Edmonton), Mark Spector (Edmonton), Dan Murphy (Vancouver), Iain McIntyre (Vancouver)
  • “Off-beat look at trades”: Ken Reid, Gerry Dee

If you don’t have traditional cable, you can still stream the trade deadline shows on TSN Direct and Sportsnet NOW. TSN Direct costs $7.99 for 24 hours of access or $19.99 for an entire month of use. Meanwhile, Sportsnet NOW has a seven-day pass that costs $9.99, or $19.99 for a monthly pass.

Jacob WhiteJacob White

+ Offside
+ Hockey
+ Sports media
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT