SFU waives admission application fees for some students affected by US travel ban

Feb 23 2017, 12:04 am

Simon Fraser University has announced it will waive all admission application fees for citizens from the seven countries affected by the US travel ban, who are not also Canadians.

Trump signed his executive order banning citizens of Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen in January, but it has since been put on hold by the courts.

However, the Trump administration has said it is working on a revised version of the ban, and there is no indication it will not affect citizens of those seven Muslim-majority countries.

In a release this week, SFU said their waiver is available to new applicants and those currently studying in the US who wish to transfer or continue their education at SFU.

“Simon Fraser University is an open and inclusive community of engaged scholars from many countries, backgrounds, and religions,” said the release. “We are committed to offering our support to those students whose plans have changed suddenly for reasons beyond their control.”

The waiver applies to students as of February 10, 2017.

See also
Jenni SheppardJenni Sheppard

+ News