Here's when to watch Rugby Sevens in Vancouver this weekend (SCHEDULE)

Mar 7 2019, 9:34 pm

Rugby Sevens returns to Vancouver this weekend.

A two-day grind, to succeed at this tournament you need preparation, endurance, and enthusiasm.

And that’s just for fans arriving in “fancy dress” in the general admission sections at BC Place.

See also


Canada, currently 11th in the World Rugby Sevens Series standings, is in Pool B with Fiji (3rd), Samoa (7th), and Kenya (13th). USA, who won last week’s tournament in Las Vegas, currently leads the overall standings, followed by New Zealand.

Pool A Pool B Pool C Pool D
USA Samoa New Zealand Argentina
South Africa Fiji Australia England
Chile Kenya Spain Scotland
Wales Canada France Japan

Other tournaments this year

Vancouver is the sixth stop on the world tour, with teams having already visited Dubai, Cape Town, Hamilton (New Zealand), Sydney, and Las Vegas. After this weekend, the tour will go to Asia and Europe, making stops in Hong Kong, Singapore, London, and Paris.

While they are competitive, Canada is not a world power – though they did win the Singapore Sevens tournament in 2017.

Previous editions of Canada Sevens have been won by New Zealand (2016), England (2017), and Fiji (2018).

Here’s how countries have fared at previous tournaments this season:

Dubai (United Arab Emirates)

1st: New Zealand
2nd: USA
3rd: England

Cape Town (South Africa)

1st: Fiji
2nd: USA
3rd: South Africa

Hamilton (New Zealand)

1st: Fiji
2nd: USA
3rd: New Zealand

Sydney (Australia)

1st: New Zealand
2nd: USA
3rd: England

Las Vegas (USA)

1st: USA
2nd: Samoa
3rd: New Zealand


The 16-team tournament features 45 matches (24 on Day 1, 21 on Day 2), with each match consisting of two seven-minute halves. Games are fast-paced, high-scoring, and completed quickly, with the next match starting almost immediately.

The action begins at 9:08 am on Saturday. Canada gets their first test at 10:58 am.

Day 1 (Saturday, March 9)

England Scotland 9:08 AM
Argentina Japan 9:30 AM
Australia Spain 9:52 AM
New Zealand France 10:14 AM
Fiji Kenya 10:36 AM
Samoa Canada 10:58 AM
South Africa Chile 11:20 AM
USA Wales 11:42 AM
England Japan 12:40 PM
Argentina Scotland 1:02 PM
Australia France 1:24 PM
New Zealand Spain 1:46 PM
Fiji Canada 2:08 PM
Samoa Kenya 2:30 PM
South Africa Wales 2:52 PM
USA Chile 3:14 PM
Scotland Japan 4:12 PM
Argentina England 4:34 PM
Spain France 4:56 PM
New Zealand Australia 5:18 PM
Kenya Canada 5:40 PM
Samoa Fiji 6:02 PM
Chile Wales 6:24 PM
USA South Africa 6:46 PM

Day 2 (Sunday, March 10)

Challenge Trophy QF1 3rd Pool A 4th Pool D 9:30 AM
Challenge Trophy QF2 3rd Pool C 4th Pool B 9:52 AM
Challenge Trophy QF3 3rd Pool D 3rd Pool A 10:14 AM
Challenge Trophy QF4 3rd Pool B 3rd Pool C 10:36 AM
Cup QF1 1st Pool A 2nd Pool D 11:08 AM
Cup QF2 1st Pool C 2nd Pool B 11:30 AM
Cup QF3 1st Pool D 2nd Pool A 11:52 AM
Cup QF4 1st Pool B 2nd Pool C 12:14 AM
13th Place SF1 Loser CT QF 1 Loser CT QF 2 12:46 PM
13th Place SF2 Loser CT QF 3 Loser CT QF 4 1:08 PM
Challenge Trophy SF1 Winner CT QF1 Winner CT QF2 1:30 PM
Challenge Trophy SF2 Winner CT QF3 Winner CT QF4 1:52 PM
5th Place SF 1 Loser Cup QF1 Loser Cup QF2 2:24 PM
5th Place SF 2 Loser Cup QF2 Loser Cup QF4 2:46 PM
Cup SF1 Winner Cup QF 1 Winner Cup QF2 3:08 PM
Cup SF 2 Winner Cup QF 3 Winner Cup QF4 3:30 PM
Match for 13th place Winner 13th SF 1 Winner 13th SF 2 4:12 PM
Challenge Trophy Final Winner CT SF 1 Winner CT SF 2 4:37 PM
Match for 5th Place Winner 5th SF 1 Winner 5th SF 2 5:07 PM
Bronze Medal Match Loser Cup SF 1 Loser Cup SF 2 5:52 PM
Cup Final Winner Cup SF 1 Winner Cup SF 2 6:19 PM