Landslide victory: Penny Oleksiak named Canadian female athlete of the year

Dec 29 2016, 1:18 am

To the surprise of nobody, Penny Oleksiak has won the Bobbie Rosenfeld Award for 2016, given annually by the Canadian Press to Canada’s female athlete of the year.

The winner of four medals (one gold, one silver, two bronze) at this summer’sĀ OlympicsĀ – the first Canadian to win four medals at a single Summer Games – Oleksiak garnered 94% of the vote.

See also

The 16-year-old swimming sensation from Toronto already won the Lou Marsh Trophy as Canada’s athlete of the year earlier this month, becoming the youngest winner in the history of the award. It’s interesting to note that Oleksiak isn’t the youngest winner of theĀ Bobbie Rosenfeld Award. That distinction goes to figure skater Tracey Wainman, who won in 1981 at the age of 13.

Oleksiak has a bright future ahead of her, so this could be the first of many awards heading her way.

Recent winners of the Bobbie Rosenfeld Award:

Year Name Sport
2005 Cindy Klassen Speed skating
2006 Cindy Klassen Speed skating
2007 Hayley Wickenheiser Ice hockey
2008 Chantal Petitclerc Wheelchair racing
2009 Aleksandra Wozniak Tennis
2010 Joannie Rochette Figure skating
2011 Jennifer Heil Freestyle skiing
2012 Christine Sinclair Soccer
2013 Eugenie Bouchard Tennis
2014 Eugenie Bouchard Tennis
2015 Brooke Henderson Golf
2016 Penny Oleksiak Swimming
Rob WilliamsRob Williams

+ Offside
+ Olympics