There's NHL hockey to watch on TV today for the first time in months

Jul 28 2020, 12:29 pm

For the first time in 140 days, there will be NHL hockey on television today.

A trio of exhibition games will drop the puck today, as all of the 24 participating teams will get one game under their belt this week before the playoffs start on Saturday.

The Pittsburgh Penguins and Philadelphia Flyers play first, from Scotiabank Arena in Toronto, beginning at 4 pm ET/1 pm PT. Unfortunately for viewers in Canada, that game isn’t being televised by Sportsnet.

The next two games — both all-Canadian matchups — can be seen on Sportsnet though.

The Montreal Canadiens are taking on the Toronto Maple Leafs (8 pm ET/5 pm PT on Sportsnet One), and the Calgary Flames play the Edmonton Oilers (10:30 pm ET/7:30 pm PT on the Sportsnet main channel).

While the Leafs and Oilers are playing at their home rinks, these aren’t necessarily official home games. As a result, the Canadiens will occupy the Leafs’ home dressing room tonight — truly a bizarre sight for these age-old rivals.

If today has you excited, wait until you see tomorrow’s schedule, which includes six games, including an all-Canadian matchup between the Vancouver Canucks and Winnipeg Jets at 10:30 pm ET/7:30 pm PT on Sportsnet. There’s also three games scheduled for Thursday, prior to the Stanley Cup qualifying round starting on Saturday.

Here’s the full exhibition schedule:

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT