NHL announces participants for each All-Star Skills Competition event

Jan 24 2020, 2:18 am

The NHL has announced the participants for each competition taking place in this year’s All-Star Skills Competition, taking place Friday night in St. Louis.

Two new events (Shooting stars and Elite Women’s 3-on-3) join four carry-over events (Fastest skater, Save streak, Accuracy shooting, and Hardest shot) this year, with the winner of the five individual events earning $30,000.

A total of 15 players from Canadian teams will be participating in this year’s All-Star Game, including:

  • Matthew Tkachuk (Calgary Flames)
  • Mark Giordano (Calgary Flames)
  • Dave Rittich (Calgary Flames)
  • Connor McDavid (Edmonton Oilers)
  • Leon Draisaitl (Edmonton Oilers)
  • Shea Weber (Montreal Canadiens)
  • Anthony Duclair (Ottawa Senators)
  • Brady Tkachuk (Ottawa Senators)
  • Mitch Marner (Toronto Maple Leafs)
  • Frederik Andersen (Toronto Maple Leafs)
  • Elias Pettersson (Vancouver Canucks)
  • Quinn Hughes (Vancouver Canucks)
  • Jacob Markstrom (Vancouver Canucks)
  • Mark Scheifele (Winnipeg Jets)
  • Connor Hellebuyck (Winnipeg Jets)

Here’s a rundown of all the participants in the Skills Competition events:

Fastest skater

Edmonton Oilers superstar Connor McDavid will be the favourite to win the fastest skater competition for a fourth year in a row.

  • Jack Eichel, Buffalo Sabres
  • Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado Avalanche
  • Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers
  • Mathew Barzal, New York Islanders
  • Chris Kreider, New York Rangers
  • Anthony Duclair, Ottawa Senators
  • Travis Konecny, Philadelphia Flyers
  • Quinn Hughes, Vancouver Canucks

Save streak

A minimum of four goalies and all 36 skaters will participate in the save streak competition, a shootout grouped by division where goalies compete to make the most consecutive saves. Rangers goalie Henrik Lundqvist won last year’s competition.

  • David Rittich, Calgary Flames
  • Tristan Jarry, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • Jordan Binnington, St. Louis Blues
  • Andrei Vasilevskiy, Tampa Bay Lightning
  • Frederik Andersen, Toronto Maple Leafs
  • Jacob Markstrom, Vancouver Canucks
  • Braden Holtby, Washington Capitals
  • Connor Hellebuyck, Winnipeg Jets

Accuracy shooting

Bruins winger David Pastrnak won the accuracy shooting competition last year, but isn’t scheduled to take part this year. That leaves the field wide open for a first-time champ.

  • Jaccob Slavin, Carolina Hurricanes
  • Tyler Bertuzzi, Detroit Red Wings
  • Leon Draisaitl, Edmonton Oilers
  • Jonathan Huberdeau, Florida Panthers
  • Nico Hischier, New Jersey Devils
  • Tomas Hertl, San Jose Sharks
  • Alex Pietrangelo, St. Louis Blues
  • Mark Scheifele, Winnipeg Jets

Elite women’s 3-on-3

Twenty women’s hockey players from the Canadian and American national teams will play a three-on-three game, while two yet to be determined players will also compete in the new shooting stars competition.

American All-Stars (hometown):

  • D Kacey Bellamy (Westfield, Mass.)
  • F Alex Carpenter (North Reading, Mass.)
  • F Kendall Coyne Schofield (Palos Heights, Ill.)
  • F Brianna Decker (Dousman, Wis.)
  • F Amanda Kessel (Madison, Wis.)
  • F Hilary Knight (Sun Valley, Idaho)
  • F Jocelyn Lamoureux-Davidson (Grand Forks, N.D.)
  • F Annie Pankowski (Laguna Hills, Calif.)
  • G Alex Rigsby Cavallini (Delafield, Wis.)
  • D Lee Stecklein (Roseville, Minn.)

Canadian All-Stars (hometown):

  • F Meghan Agosta (Ruthven, Ont.)
  • F MĂ©lodie Daoust (Valleyfield, Que.)
  • G Ann-RenĂ©e Desbiens (La Malbaie, Que.)
  • D Renata Fast (Burlington, Ont.)
  • D Laura Fortino (Hamilton, Ont.)
  • F Rebecca Johnston (Sudbury, Ont.)
  • F Sarah Nurse (Hamilton, Ont.)
  • F Marie-Philip Poulin (Beauceville, Que.)
  • F Natalie Spooner (Scarborough, Ont.)
  • F Blayre Turnbull (Stellarton, N.S.)

Hardest shot

Capitals defenceman John Carlson will look to defend his title in the hardest shot competition, but it won’t be easy, as three-time champ Shea Weber of the Montreal Canadiens is also taking part.

  • Mark Giordano, Calgary Flames
  • Seth Jones, Columbus Blue Jackets
  • Shea Weber, Montreal Canadiens
  • Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning
  • Elias Pettersson, Vancouver Canucks
  • John Carlson, Washington Capitals

Shooting stars

The new shooting stars competition should be a sight to behold, as players will be positioned on an elevated platform 30 feet above the ice surface where they will shoot pucks at a variety of targets on the ice.

  • Women’s Elite All-Star (CAN) — TBD
  • Women’s Elite All-Star (USA) — TBD
  • David Pastrnak, Boston Bruins
  • Matthew Tkachuk, Calgary Flames
  • Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks
  • Tyler Seguin, Dallas Stars
  • Brady Tkachuk, Ottawa Senators
  • Ryan O’Reilly, St. Louis Blues
  • David Perron, St. Louis Blues
  • Mitch Marner, Toronto Maple Leafs

All-Star Weekend will be televised on CBC and Sportsnet in Canada, with the Skills Competition beginning Friday at 8 pm ET / 5 pm PT. The All-Star Game is a three-on-three tournament scheduled to start at 8 pm ET / 5 pm PT on Saturday.

Rob WilliamsRob Williams

+ Offside
+ Hockey