Hockey Night in Canada to air in seven additional languages

Mar 31 2021, 5:48 pm

Hockey Night in Canada is a Canadian institution, in English, French, and most recently, Punjabi. For one night in April, it will be available to see in seven additional languages.

In partnership with Molson, Sportsnet will offer live streaming of NHL games in Cantonese, Mandarin, Hindi, Vietnamese, Tagalog, German, and Arabic during the Hockey Night in Canada doubleheader on Saturday, April 17.

The seven languages selected, along with English, French, and Punjabi, are the most commonly-spoken in each Canadian city with an NHL team.

“This initiative is a great step in bringing hockey into the homes of more Canadians and doing so in a way that is personalized, accessible and unique,” said Anthony Attard, Sportsnet’s Vice-President, Sports and NHL Sales.

“Canada is among the most multicultural nations in the world, and what an incredible thing it could be to intersect the pride we have in our country’s game with the pride we have in the diversity of its people,” said Joy Ghosh, Senior Brand Director for the Molson family of brands.

A virtual sportscasting studio will be provided by Spalk, allowing “experienced hockey commentators from around the globe” to “customize the viewing experience for each individual language.”

To view the games, go to Sportsnet.ca/Molson on April 17 to watch the Toronto Maple Leafs against the Vancouver Canucks (7 pm ET/4 pm PT) and the Edmonton Oilers take on the Winnipeg Jets (10 pm ET/7 pm PT).

Rob WilliamsRob Williams

+ Offside
+ Hockey
+ Sports media
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT