Final count completed for 2020 Provincial Election

Nov 9 2020, 5:29 pm

The final count for the 2020 Provincial Election in British Columbia is complete.

Elections BC made the announcement on Sunday, saying that the count had been finalized in every electoral district in the province.

Results of the 2020 Provincial Election are as follows:

Political Party Members Elected
BC Green Party 2
BC Liberal Party 28

Elections BC notes, however, that an automatic judicial recount will take place in the West Vancouver – Sea to Sky district.

Recounts take place “when the difference between the top two candidates is less than 1/500 of the total ballots considered.”

Premier John Horgan adds that he’s “humbled and honoured British Columbians have shown for our BC NDP team.”

“COVID-19 is presenting us with new challenges each day, and we need to keep the focus where it belongs: keeping ourselves, our families and our communities healthy, safe and secure,” Horgan says in an emailed statement.

Candidate breakdown


BC non-partisan group, Forum for Millennial Leadership, has compiled a detailed breakdown of the age demographic and gender represented by BC’s MLAs.


Of note, the final gender split of the legislature is now 59% male, 41% female. The NDP are 51% male, 49% female, the Greens are 50/50, and the BC Liberals are 75% male.

“It’s not just about who you run, it’s about where you run them. In 2017 the NDP elected 8 MLAs under 40 and the BC Liberals elected zero. In 2020 the NDP elected 8 MLAs under 40 and the BC Liberals narrowly elected one,” Gavin Dew of the Forum for Millennial Leadership.

“Hopefully 2024 will be a different story, and we’ll see more generational representation across the partisan spectrum, running in winnable ridings.”

Vincent PlanaVincent Plana

+ News
+ Politics