× Select City
Politics, News

Dianne Watts to run for leader of the BC Liberals

Kenneth Chan Sep 21, 2017 9:24 am 1,335

Former mayor of Surrey Dianne Watts is expected to make a pitch for the leadership of the BC Liberals party.

A source has told Daily Hive that Watts will resign from her current position as the Conservative MP for South Surrey and seek the BC Liberals’ nomination to replace Christy Clark.

She is expected to formally announce her candidacy at an event in Surrey on Sunday, which will make her the first person to officialize their intention to run.

Other potential candidates said to be contemplating their candidacy include former Clark government ministers Todd Stone, Mike Bernier, Mike de Jong, and Andrew Wilkinson. As well, Liberal MLA and former Vancouver mayor Sam Sullivan is mulling his chances as well.

Based on the findings of an Insights West survey conducted last month, Watts is the only potential BC Liberals leader that could topple the governing BC NDP.

Watts had a favourability rating of 39%, which is considerably higher than all of the other prospective leadership contenders including former Vancouver Mayor Sam Sullivan at 30%, former BC Minister of Finance Mike de Jong at 28%, former television reporter Jas Johal at 24%, and former BC Minister of Transportation Kevin Falcon at 23%.

If Watts were to run against the BC NDP, she is the only prospective leader to clearly outperform the governing party, with 30% to 25% in favour of the BC Liberals.

The favourability rating under her leadership increases to 44% to 37% when undecided voters are not accounted for.

See also


Sign Up to our Newsletter for exclusive content, contests, and perks.

Kenneth Chan
National Features Editor at Daily Hive, the evolution of Vancity Buzz. He covers local architecture, urban issues, politics, business, retail, economic development, transportation and infrastructure, and the travel industry. Kenneth is also a Co-Founder of New Year's Eve Vancouver. Connect with him at kenneth[at]

© 2019 Buzz Connected Media Inc.