Bianca Andreescu named Canada's top athlete in 2019

Dec 9 2019, 12:06 pm

Bianca Andreescu isn’t done making history.

Canada’s first-ever Grand Slam singles champion was named the 79th recipient of the Lou Marsh Trophy on Monday. Given annually to Canada’s Athlete of the Year since 1936, the 19-year-old US Open champ is the first tennis player to ever receive the award.

Andreescu is also the first Canadian female athlete to win the award on her own in a non-Olympic year since kayaker Caroline Brunet won in 1999.

Other finalists included golfer Brooke Henderson, sprinter Andre De Grasse, Atlanta Braves pitcher Mike Soroka, and St Louis Blues goaltender Jordan Binnington.

“Wow, I’m so thankful for this award. I was not expecting it and to be the first tennis player to win is even more surreal,” said Andreescu in a media release. “None of my success this year would have been possible without the support from all of Canada.

“Canadian sports crushed it this year so there are definitely many other athletes who deserve a piece of this award as well – we all motivate each other to be better. I can’t wait for what 2020 will bring and am always proud to represent Canada at the highest level.”

The Lou Marsh Trophy is often met with spirited debate, but not this year. Andreescu was the unanimous selection by the panel of journalists that voted.

On top of her historic win at the US Open, Andreescu won prestigious tournaments in Toronto and Indian Wells in 2019. In capturing the Rogers Cup, Andreescu became the first Canadian in 50 years to win our national tournament.

Andreescu had a 48-5 win-loss record in 2019, helping her soar from No. 152 in the world to a Canadian female singles record of No. 4 on October 21.

Recent winners of the Lou Marsh Trophy:

  • 2018: Mikaël Kingsbury (freestyle skiing)
  • 2017: Joey Votto (baseball)
  • 2016: Penny Oleksiak (swimming)
  • 2015: Carey Price (hockey)
  • 2014: Kaillie Humphries (bobsleigh)
  • 2013: Jon Cornish (football)
  • 2012: Christine Sinclair (soccer)
  • 2011: Patrick Chan (figure skating)
  • 2010: Joey Votto (Baseball)
  • 2009: Sydney Crosby (hockey)