Canada’s best light up 2018 JUNO Awards in Vancouver (PHOTOS)

Mar 26 2018, 4:11 pm

This past weekend, the 2018 JUNO Awards took over Rogers Arena in Vancouver for a star-studded celebration of Canadian music.

It was the fourth time that Vancouver had hosted the event, the last time dating back almost a decade ago in 2009. Michael Bublé, who actually won a JUNO for the best adult contemporary album the night before, acted as the master of ceremonies.

See also

The event had an extensive list of performers, all of whom were either multiple JUNO winners or nominees themselves. Arcade Fire, Arkells, Lights, Jessie Reyez, and Shawn Hook were just a few of the performances that took to the stage last night.

A post shared by p.onatra (@p.onatra) on

A post shared by Eric Poxleitner (@egpoxleitner) on

Eight-time Juno award winners, the Barenaked Ladies, rejoined with former member Steven Page to end the night with a special one-time performance to celebrate their induction into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame.

A post shared by Radek🇵🇱🇨🇦 (@dent_1) on

A post shared by Manuel 🌱 (@manuelgorrin) on

The entire music world also paid tribute to Gord Downie, the lead singer and the lyricist of the Tragically Hip, who passed away from brain cancer last October. He was honoured with a tribute performance by Sarah Harmer and Dallas Green.

Amongst a number of prominent artists, the following were the big winners of the night:

  • Shawn Mendes was the winner of both the Juno Fan Choice Award and Single of the Year for There’s Nothing Holdin’ me Back.
  • Kendrick Lamar won International Album of the Year for DAMN.
  • Gord Downie received Artist of the Year, Adult Alternative Album of the Year, and shared Songwriter of the Year with Kevin Drew.
  • Jessie Reyez won Breakthrough artist of the year.

A post shared by Erik Weimer (@electric_erik) on

  • Lights won Pop Album of the Year with Skin & Earth

  • James Barker Band won Country Album of the Year with Game On. 
  • Gary Slaight won the Humanitarian Award.
  • Arcade Fire won the International Achievement Award.

A post shared by Mel Z ( on

  • Denise Donlon won the Walt Grealis Special Achievement Award.


A post shared by Jagmeet Singh (@jagmeetsingh) on

A post shared by Raina Douris (@rahrahraina) on

A post shared by Alexis (@alexisdavy) on