It's official: These are the Greater Toronto Area's new mayors

Oct 23 2018, 2:04 pm

The votes are in.

Polls closed across the city and the Greater Toronto Area around 8 pm Monday, which lead to the defeat and re-election of a number of mayoral incumbents.

Incumbent John Tory was re-elected as the mayor of Toronto in a landslide win over opponent Jennifer Keesmaat.

In a surprising turn of events, Patrick Brown made quite the political comeback. Just months after sexual misconduct allegations forced him to step down as leader of Ontario’s PC Party, Brown defeated Brampton Mayor Linda Jeffrey for the city’s top job.

The morning following the election, Premier Doug Ford congratulated the municipal candidates.

“Campaigns connect us to our neighbourhoods and communities, and deepen our understanding of the people we share them with. I commend everyone who put themselves forward as a candidate in these elections,” said Ford in a statement.

“I also congratulate all those successful candidates who now have the great responsibility of representing their constituents and working to improve their local communities.”

“Win or lose, I hope that every candidate has come away from their campaign with a sense of fulfilment, a better understanding of the issues that matter, and a clearer vision of how to make government work in the best interest of the people.”

Here are the winning mayoral candidates from each major municipality.


Shaun Collier was elected as the new mayor of Ajax.


Incumbent Jeff Lehman has been re-elected mayor of Barrie.


Patrick Brown ousted incumbent mayor Linda Jeffrey to take the city’s top job in Brampton.


Marianne Meed Ward has defeated two-term incumbent Rick Goldring to win mayor of Burlington.


Incumbent Mayor Allan Thompson has been re-elected as mayor of Caledon.


Fred Eisenberger has been re-elected as mayor of Hamilton.


Frank Scarpitti has been re-elected for a third term as mayor of Markham.


Incumbent Mayor Gordon Krantz has been elected to his 13th term in Milton.


Bonnie Cromie was re-elected as the mayor of Mississauga.

New Market

Former Regional Councillor John Taylor has been elected to his first term as mayor of Newmarket.


Maurizio Bevilacqua was re-elected for his third term in Vaughan’s mayoral office.


Incumbent Rob Burton has been re-elected mayor of Oakville.


Sandy Brown has defeated incumbent Jeremy D. Williams to be elected as Orangeville’s mayor.


Former regional and city councillor Dan Carter was elected to replace former mayor John Henry in Oshawa.


Incumbent Dave Ryan has once again been elected mayor of Pickering.

Richmond Hill

Dave Barrow has been elected to his fourth term as mayor of Richmond Hill.


Incumbent John Tory was re-elected as mayor of Toronto for his second term.


Incumbent Don Mitchell has been re-elected as the mayor of Whitby.


Former Deputy Mayor Ian Lovatt has been elected, unseating incumbent Justin Altmann.

See also
Ainsley SmithAinsley Smith

+ News
+ Politics