La La Land wins People's Choice Award at TIFF

Sep 19 2016, 3:20 am

Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone’s new musical about trying to make it in Hollywood has already made it in Hollywood (north).

The duo’s new film, from acclaimed director Damien Chazelle of Whiplash, has taken TIFF by storm – and picked up the Grolsch People’s Choice Award in the process. 

See also

As such, there will be a free screening of La La Land tonight at 6 pm at Roy Thompson Hall. Though, we’re betting if you haven’t been waiting there since about noon today the first-come, first-served tickets will be long gone by now.

Either way, it’s clear that La La Land is worth checking out once it’s released in theatres on December 16, 2016.

If you haven’t seen the trailer for the modern day musical that “captures the story of Mia, an aspiring actress, and Sebastian, a dedicated jazz musician, who are struggling to make ends meet in a city known for destroying hopes and breaking hearts,” you can do so at the bottom of this article.

A full breakdown of the awards, judges, and comments is available here, but other award winners included:

Short Cuts Award For Best Canadian Short Film
Alexandre Dostie’s Mutants

Short Cuts Award For Best Short Film
Raymund Ribay Gutierrez’s Imago

City Of Toronto Award For Best Canadian First Feature Film
Johnny Ma’s Old Stone

Canada Goose Award For Best Canadian Feature Film
Mathieu Denis and Simon Lavoie for Those Who Make Revolution Halfway Only Dig Their Own Graves

Prize of the International Federation of Film Critics (FIPRESCI) for the Discoveryprogramme
Mbithi Masya for Kati Kati

Prize of the International Federation of Film Critics (FIPRESCI) for Special Presentations
Feng Xiaogang for I Am Not Madame Bovary

NETPAC Award for World or International Asian Film Premiere
Maysaloun Hamoud’s In Between 

Toronto Platform Prize
Pablo Larraín for Jackie

Grolsch People’s Choice Midnight Madness Award
Ben Wheatley’s Free Fire

Grolsch People’s Choice Documentary Award
Raoul Peck for I Am Not Your Negro

Dropbox Discovery Programme Filmmakers Award
Yanillys Perez for Jeffrey

Eric WainwrightEric Wainwright

+ Arts