28 counties across Oregon to begin reopening tomorrow

May 14 2020, 9:54 pm

Starting Friday, May 15, 28 counties across Oregon are set to begin reopening, Governor Kate Brown announced in a tweet.

Last week, the state revealed their phased plan for relaunching the economy amidst this global pandemic that has yet to truly subside in Oregon. In order to be approved to enter into phase one of the plan, counties must apply with the government.

On Thursday, Brown said that of all those that applied, 28 counties, have been approved to enter phase one as of tomorrow.

I was incredibly impressed by the work that many counties put into their reopening applications,” tweeted Brown.

For a complete list of counties in Oregon and their current status for reopening, check out this handy list on Oregon.gov for an overview.

“From the very onset of this crisis, I’ve said that data and science would inform my decisions. And science and data remain my guideposts as we begin the reopening of Oregon,” writes Brown on the Oregon Gov coronavirus info page. “As we begin the process of reopening and building a safe and strong Oregon, I again ask Oregonians to come together and be smart. Reopening any part of our state comes with risk.”

Alongside the kick-off to reopening happening around Oregon this weekend, retail businesses have also been given a shot in the arm, with permission to resume business for those locations with side-walk access.

Wyatt FossettWyatt Fossett

+ News
+ Coronavirus