World Travel Awards are coming to Canada for the first time ever

Jul 31 2019, 8:57 pm

For the first time ever, the World Travel Awards (WTA) will be hosted in Canada.

The Thompson Okanagan region in BC has won a three-year bid to host the awards.

Established in 1993, the WTA’s goals are to “acknowledge, reward, and celebrate excellence across all sectors of the tourism industry.”

Predator Ridge in Vernon will host the first year in October 2020, welcoming over 300 international delegates at the North American Gala Ceremony.

Hosts for the second and third tears will be announced in 2020 and 2021 and will also take place in the Thompson Okanagan Region.

A joint application for the World Travel Awards was submitted by the Thompson Okanagan Tourism Associaton (TOTA), Predator Ridge Resort, and the City of Vernon.

Previous host cities of awards include New York, Montego Bay, Orlando, Turks & Caicos, the Bahamas, and Antigua.

“We are deeply honoured to host our North America Gala Ceremony 2020 in Thompson Okanagan,” said Graham Cooke, founder of the World Travel Awards, in a statement.

“This fascinating region of British Columbia, Canada is leading the way in sustainable tourism practice and serving as a benchmark of how to preserve Mother Nature for the benefit of future generations.”

See also: 

Mapped StaffMapped Staff

+ Travel News
+ Mapped