Europe announces new travel authorization requirements for Canadians and Americans

Mar 11 2019, 6:51 pm

Update: A previous version of this post stated these changes did not apply to Canadians. The article has been updated to confirm that they do.

As of January 1, 2021, Canadians (along with residents from 60 other countries) will no longer be able to visit Europe on a whim — at least, not without applying for the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) first.

According to the European Commission, the new system is being enforced to upgrade international security. It will apply for travel in 22 countries in the Schengen zone, including Italy, France, and Germany. Visits to the UK will remain exempt.

At present, Canadians traveling to the 26 members of the Schengen area for up to 90 days do not require any type of authorization or visa. It’s as simple as booking a flight to London or Paris and heading off, granted you follow the 90/180 day rule.

ETIAS will be an automated IT system that identifies security or migratory risks posed by visa-free travellers entering the Schengen Zone. It is also designed to ease border crossings for the majority of travellers who are deemed non-risks.

The European Commission’s fact sheet details precisely how ETIAS will work.

Unlike the visa process, ETIAS will not require a consulate visit or biometric data collection. Instead, the process will involve the completion of an online application form prior to departure. Submission of a valid passport and payment of a €7 ($8) application fee will kickstart an automated assessment process. The commission expects that over 95% of applicants will pass and receive their authorization via email within just a few minutes.

ETIAS authorization will be valid for a period of three years for multiple entries, meaning travellers can go back and forth during the three-year window without re-applying.

Trixie PacisTrixie Pacis

+ Travel News
+ Mapped