Ontario selects first 14 municipalities to get stand-alone cannabis stores

Nov 3 2017, 10:10 pm

Earlier this fall it was announced that Ontario would have 150 stand-alone cannabis stores by 2020.

Earlier today, the Ministry of Finance and the LCBO announced the first 14 approved municipalities to open stand-alone cannabis stores by July 2018.

Over the next few weeks, the Ministry of Finance and the LCBO will be speaking directly to the chosen municipalities to discuss the next steps including the guidelines and process for siting stores and local interests.

To ensure the public is involved in this process, when a specific store site is identified a public notice will be posted online here and at the physical site. The public will then have the opportunity to submit any questions and comments they have on the intended site before it is confirmed.

By July 2018, additional municipalities will be selected for stand-alone cannabis stores, but all consumers from across the province will be able to purchase cannabis through an online channel.

Here is the full list:

  • Barrie
  • Brampton
  • Hamilton
  • Kingston
  • Kitchener
  • London
  • Mississauga
  • Ottawa
  • Sault Ste. Marie
  • Sudbury
  • Thunder Bay
  • Toronto
  • Vaughan
  • Windsor
See also
DH Toronto StaffDH Toronto Staff

+ News
+ Grow
+ News & Policy