Met Gala: All the looks to match 2023's Karl Lagerfeld-inspired theme (PHOTOS)

May 2 2023, 2:24 pm

The Met Gala is synonymous with celebrity royalty… Familiar famous faces show up and step out in almost ceremonial-like attire for what is considered one of the biggest social and fashion nights of the year.

Last night’s event, hosted at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City, paid homage to the former head of fashion houses, including Chanel and Fendi — late German fashion designer and legend Karl Lagerfeld. Credited with reviving Chanel, the influential designer, who also ran his eponymous label and produced multiple equally impressive collections at an ungraspable rate, was a celebrated figure not shy of controversy. 

Not surprisingly, the 2023 Met Gala theme, Karl Lagerfeld: A Line of Beauty, marked the opening of the museum’s exhibition of the same name, spurring stars to channel their innermost imaginative selves. Doja Cat went as far as stylishly channelling Lagerfeld’s beloved cat, Choupette, while Jeremy Pope rocked the red carpet with a monumental 30 ft cape sporting the designer’s most classic look.

In case you missed it, here are the top looks from the night. 

Teyana Taylor in Thom Browne

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by The Fashion Mogul (@thefashionnmogul)

Doja Cat in Oscar de la Renta

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Doja Cat (@dojacat)

A$AP Rocky in Gucci and Rihanna in Maison Valentino

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Cosmopolitan UK (@cosmopolitanuk)

Serena Williams and Alexis Ohanian in Gucci

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Serena Williams (@serenawilliams)

Mindy Kaling in Jonathan Simkhai

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Mindy Kaling (@mindykaling)

Pedro Pascal in Valentino

Olivia Rodrigo in Thom Browne

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Olivia Rodrigo (@oliviarodrigo)

Anne Hathaway in Versace

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Anne Hathaway (@annehathaway)

Olivier Rousteing

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by J K Styling (@fashion_style151)

Jeremy Pope in custom Balmain

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by MC COSTELLO (@mccostellofashion)

Kim Kardashian in custom Schiaparelli by Daniel Roseberry

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Kim Kardashian (@kimkardashian)

Penelope Cruz in Chanel

Conan Gray

Sean ‘Diddy’ Combs in Sean John Couture

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by LOVE (@diddy)

Caresha ‘Yung Miami’ Brownlee in ACT N°1 by Luca Lin

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Caresha ..💗💋 (@yungmiami305)

Paris Hilton in Marc Jacobs

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Rebel On The Road (@_rebelontheroad_)

Kendall Jenner in Marc Jacobs

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Vogue (@voguemagazine)

Jennie Kim in vintage Chanel

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by J (@jennierubyjane)

Lil Nas X

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by 93.9 The Beat (@939beat)

Bad Bunny in Jacquemus

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Vogue (@voguemagazine)

Ashley Graham in Harris Reed

Mary J. Blige in custom Burberry

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Mary J Blige (@therealmaryjblige)

Jenna Ortega in Thom Browne

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Jenna Ortega (@jennaortega)

Cardi B in Chen Peng Studio

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Cardi B (@iamcardib)

Lizzo in custom Chanel

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Cosmopolitan (@cosmopolitan)

Simu Liu in Versace 

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Simu Liu (@simuliu)

Catriona HughesCatriona Hughes

+ Fashion & Beauty
+ Curated
+ Celebrities
+ Canada
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT