Calgary Stampede parade to be led by chiefs of Treaty 7 Nations

Jun 15 2017, 11:20 pm

The Calgary Stampede announced that this year’s Parade Marshals will be the seven chiefs of the Treaty 7 Nations.

All from southern Alberta, the Treaty 7 Nations are comprised of three Blackfoot Confederacy Nations, three Stoney Nakoda Nations and the Tsuut’ina Nation.

A relationship that has spanned the whole Calgary Stampede run, the nations of Treaty 7 and the Calgary Stampede dates back to 1912 when Guy Weadick, creator and organizer of the very first Stampede, requested that First Nations be a part of the celebration.

The 2017 Parade Marshals are:

Blackfoot Confederacy Nations

Chief Roy Fox – Kainai/Blood Tribe

Chief Stanley (Stan) C. Grier – Piikani Nation

Chief Joseph Weasel Child – Siksika Nation

Stoney Nakoda Nations

Chief Darcy Dixon – Bearspaw First Nation

Chief Ernest Wesley – Wesley First Nation

Chief Aaron Young – Chiniki First Nation

Tsuut’ina Nation

Chief Lee Crowchild – Tsuut’ina Nation

“We have had a strong relationship since the beginning of this great festival, and we would like to build on that relationship going forward, making our connection even stronger,” said President and Chairman of the board at the Calgary Stampede, David Sibbald. “The Stampede is a community gathering place and it is important that we preserve, protect and grow the home fires of our western heritage.”

In 1912, 1,800 First Nations people participated in the Calgary Stampede, leading the parade, competing in the rodeo and camping in the first informal Indian Village.

See also
DH Calgary StaffDH Calgary Staff

+ Listed
+ News
+ Stampede