Assembly of First Nations re-elects Perry Bellegarde as chief during vote in Vancouver

Jul 25 2018, 10:36 pm


The Assembly of First Nations has re-elected Perry Bellegarde as chief of Assembly of First Nations.


The 39th annual Assembly of First Nations is happening in Vancouver this week, with a vote to decide on a new national chief for the organization.

Taking place at the Vancouver Convention Centre, the event featured a Grand Entry on Wednesday, which helped signify the start of the voting process.

Following the entry, BC Regional Chief Terry Teegee welcomed Chiefs and delegates to the Territory of the Squamish, Musqueam and Tsleil-waututh First Nations.

On the leadership ballot are five candidates from across the country. They include:

  • Perry Bellegarde, a former Saskatchewan regional chief for the AFN in his first term as leader
  • Russell Diabo, a Mohawk policy analyst from Kahnawake, south of Montreal;
  • Sheila North, Grand Chief of Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak
  • Miles Richardson, former president of the Council of the Haida Nation in B.C. and current director of the National Consortium for Indigenous Economic Development
  • Katherine Whitecloud, former Manitoba regional chief of the AFN

Today’s vote includes chiefs of more than 600 First Nations or their proxies, and the new chief is expected to be chosen during the event this week.

See also
DH Vancouver StaffDH Vancouver Staff

+ News