Vancouver Whitecaps FC Protected Players List for 2012 MLS Expansion Draft

The 2012 MLS season is going to have yet another Canadian team joining the mix as the Montreal Impact make the jump to North America’s premier soccer league. With the addition of the 19th team to the MLS comes the always interesting “expansion draft”. The Whitecaps have released the list of “protected players” and they have left a few key players from last season open to be taken from the squad from Montreal.

MLS rules on hthe expansion draft allows a team to “protect” 11 players, as well as 6 from the Generation Adidas and Homegrown Players categories. To be honest I was shicked to see star keeper Joe Cannon on the list along with the streaky Jeb Brovsky. Only time will tell who is going to be on the pitch at BC Place next season for the Whitecaps.

Here is a list fo the players that Montreal Impact have to choose from on Wednesday the 23rd (keep in mind each MLS team can only lose one player):

  • Michael Boxall
  • Jeb Brovsky
  • Joe Cannon
  • Bilal Duckett
  • Greg Janicki
  • Mustapha Jarju
  • Jonathan Leathers
  • Alexandre Morfaw
  • Jay Nolly
  • John Thorrington
  • Peter Vagenas

In case you were wondering that leaves the following players out of the mix on draft day:

  • Davide Chiumento
  • Jay DeMerit
  • Atiba Harris
  • Jordan Harvey
  • Eric Hassli
  • Gershon Koffie
  • Carlyle Mitchell
  • Alain Rochat
  • Shea Salinas
  • Camilo Sanezzo
  • Long Tan
  • Bryce Alderson
  • Russell Teibert
  • Micael Teibert
  • Michael Nanchoff
  • Omar Salgado
  • Philippe Davies
  • Nizar Khalfan
  • Brian Sylvestre
DH Vancouver StaffDH Vancouver Staff
DH Vancouver StaffDH Vancouver Staff
DH Vancouver StaffDH Vancouver Staff

+ News
+ News