How the Canucks Stanley Cup curse stacks up against other teams

Nov 4 2016, 12:33 am

The Chicago Cubs ended the longest championship drought in North American professional sports history on Wednesday night (Thursday morning, technically), defeating the Cleveland Indians in a dramatic fashion to win the World Series and end a 108-year curse.

Think about that for a second. There are Cubs fans – a lot of them – that were born and have died since their 1908 World Series win. Sliced bread hadn’t been invented yet (seriously). Vancouver has won a Stanley Cup since then (the Vancouver Millionaires in 1915).

If you’re a Canucks fan, you might feel like your team is cursed too. Seeing them win before we die would be nice, wouldn’t it?

The Canucks’ streak without a Stanley Cup is now up to 46 years and the end is nowhere in sight. Unlike the Cubs, who hadn’t even made the final since 1945, the Canucks have had some close calls.

They’ve made the Stanley Cup Final three times in their history, losing in Game 7 on two occasions.

But you know that already.

The question is, how does Vancouver’s misery stack-up against other pro teams? With the Cubs out of the way, the Canucks are inching closer and closer to the top of the infamous list.

The Cleveland Cavaliers won their first NBA Championship in franchise history this year, ending a 46-year drought.

In 2004, the Boston Red Sox won their first World Series in 86 years and the following season the Chicago White Sox won their first in 88 years.

Looking outside of North America, Leicester City won their first EPL title in 132 years in May. In Australian Rules Football, the Western Bulldogs won their first premiership since 1954 in September.

For Vancouver, 46 years is a long time to wait, but it’s far from the worst drought left. In fact, they’re tied for the 24th-longest championship drought among the four major professional sports leagues in North America.

Here’s a closer look:

League Team Drought (years)
NFL Arizona Cardinals 69*
MLB Cleveland Indians 68
NBA Sacramento Kings 65
NFL Detroit Lions 59*
NBA Atlanta Hawks 58
NFL Philadelphia Eagles 56*
MLB Texas Rangers 55*
NFL Minnesota Vikings 55*
NFL Tennessee Titans 55*
MLB Houston Astros 54*
NFL San Diego Chargers 53*
NFL Cleveland Browns 52*
NFL Buffalo Bills 51*
NFL Atlanta Falcons 50*
NHL Toronto Maple Leafs 49
NHL St Louis Blues 49*
NFL Cincinnati Bengals 48*
NFL New York Jets 48
NBA Phoenix Suns 48*
MLB Milwaukee Brewers 47*
MLB San Diego Padres 47*
MLB Washington Nationals 47*
NFL Kansas City Chiefs 47
NHL Vancouver Canucks 46*
NHL Buffalo Sabres 46*
NBA Los Angeles Clippers 46*

* = indicates franchise has never won a championship

Let’s just hope that when Vancouver’s time comes, we’ll get to enjoy it like Cubs fans got to do.

Rob WilliamsRob Williams

+ Offside
+ Hockey