3 Metro Vancouver MPs sworn in to Prime Minister Justin Trudeau cabinet

Dec 19 2017, 6:19 pm

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau. It’s official.

Early Wednesday morning at Rideau Hall, Canadians gathered to witness the swearing in of the new Canadian government, led by the Rt. Hon. Justin Trudeau.


Of the 31 ministers part of Trudeau’s cabinet (including Trudeau himself), three are from Metro Vancouver: Jody Wilson-Raybould (Vancouver Granville), Harjit Sajjan (Vancouver South), and Carla Qualtrough (Delta).

Trudeau Cabinet

  • Prime Minister – Rt. Hon. Justin Trudeau
  • Minister of Public Safety & Emergency Preparedness – Ralph Goodale
  • Minister of Agriculture & Agri-Food – Lawrence MacAulay
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs – Stéphane Dion
  • Minister of Immigration, Refugees & Citizenship – John McCallum
  • Minister of Indigenous & Northern Affairs – Carolyn Bennett
  • President of the Treasury Board – Scott Brison
  • Leader of the Government in the House of Commons – Dominic LeBlanc
  • Minister of Innovation, Science & Economic Development – Navdeep Singh Bains
  • Minister of Finance – William (Bill) Francis Morneau
  • Minister of Justice & Attorney General of Canada – Jody Wilson-Raybould
  • Minister of Public Services & Procurement – Judy M. Foote
  • Minister of International Trade – Chrystia Freeland
  • Minister of Health – Jane Philpott
  • Minister of Families, Children & Social Development  – Jean-Yves Duclos
  • Minister of Transport – Marc Garneau
  • Minister of International Development & La Francophonie – Marie-Claude Bibeau
  • Minister of Natural Resources – James Gordon Carr
  • Minister of Canadian Heritage – Mélanie Joly
  • Minister of National Revenue – Diane Lebouthillier
  • Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence – Kent Hehr
  • Minister of Environment & Climate Change – Catherine McKenna
  • Minister of Defence – Harjit Sajjan
  • Minister of Employment, Workforce Development & Labour – MaryAnn Mihychuk
  • Minister of Infrastructure & Communities – Amarjeet Sohi
  • Minister of Democratic Institutions – Maryam Monsef
  • Minister of Sport & Persons with Disabilities – Carla Qualtrough
  • Minister of Fisheries, Oceans & the Canadians Coast Guard – Hunter Tootoo
  • Minister of Science – Kirsty Duncan
  • Minister of Status of Women – Patricia A. Hajdu
  • Minister of Small Business & Tourism – Bardish Chagger

On top of his role as prime minister, Trudeau is also taking on two ministerial portfolios: intergovernmental affairs and youth.

Following the swearing in ceremony, the prime minister will be hosting a Google Hangout with students from five schools across the country. Canadians can tune in and watch it live on YouTube starting at 10:30 a.m.



DH Vancouver StaffDH Vancouver Staff

+ News