Polaris Music Prize announces 2015 Gala performers

Dec 20 2017, 1:08 am

The Polaris Music Prize is one of Canada’s most prestigious music awards, given out annually in recognition of creativity, diversity and artistic integrity to Canadian artists, regardless of genre or sales history. The award was originally established in 2006 with a $20,000 cash prize, and over the years, the prize has gradually increased in sum — this year’s winner will receive $50,000.

Jurors — a selected panel of music critics — select what they deem to be the top five best Canadian albums released over the past year. A Long List of 40 is created, promoted to the public, then sent back to the jury for them to re-submit their top five from the List. These ballots are re-tabulated to form the top 10 Short List. The winner is then determined by a smaller group of jurors at the Polaris Music Prize Gala as the nominated bands perform.

The Polaris Music Prize recently announced its line up of Short Listed performers for the 2015 Gala ceremony, which will take place at The Carlu in Toronto on September 21. The confirmed musical guests include Alvvays, Braids, Jennifer Castle, Tobias Jesso Jr., Buffy Sainte-Marie and Viet Cong.

Beloved children’s music artist Fred Penner will host the 2015 Gala, which is also celebrating its 10th anniversary this year. Presenters will include previously nominated musicians such as Katie Stelmanis (Austra), Dan Boeckner (Handsome Furs/Wolf Parade/Operators) and Jeremy Greenspan (Junior Boys).


Vancity Buzz Arts Facebook ad

DH Vancouver StaffDH Vancouver Staff

+ News