Order of B.C. 2013 Recipients

Dec 19 2017, 8:03 am

The 2013 Order of B.C. recipients have been named. Thirteen British Columbians will be appointed to the province’s most prestigious accolade for contributions to the province in extraordinary ways. They’ll also earn the right to place the letters “O.B.C.” after their names.

“It is an opportunity to publicly recognize those who have dedicated themselves to bettering the lives of their fellow citizens,” said Lieutenant Governor Judith Guichon, Chancellor of the Order. “These recipients exemplify the positive difference one person can make in a community and are an inspiration to all British Columbians.”

“The Order of British Columbia recognizes remarkable accomplishments by extraordinary
British Columbians,” said Premier Christy Clark. “This year’s recipients have each made a
difference in their communities and to the province.”

Order of B.C. 2013 recipients

  • Peter S. Anderson, M.A. (Burnaby) – emergency communications and disaster warning expert
  • Dr. Finley Armanious (Vernon) – intensive care physician and hospital fundraiser
  • Larry Berg (Richmond) – Vancouver International Airport leader and visionary (former CEO)
  • Sergio Cocchia (West Vancouver) – entrepreneur and philanthropist supporting children’s charities
  • Donna Crocker (Langley) – fundraiser and advocate for homeless people
  • Gregory Fahlman, Ph.D. (Victoria) – world renowned astronomy researcher
  • Dr. Paula Gordon (Vancouver) – innovative breast cancer screening researcher
  • Wendy Grant-John (Vancouver – First Nations economic and community leader
  • Arthur S. Hara, O.C., LL.C., O.R.S. (Vancouver) – Asia-Pacific businessman and economic leader
  • Robert Ho (West Vancouver) – philanthropist supporting health care and universities
  • George W. Hungerford, O.C., Q.C. (Vancouver) – philanthropist in sport, health care and education
  • Charles J. Jago, Ph.D. (Prince George) – leader in education, economic development and the arts
  • Dr. Charles H. Scudamore (Vancouver) – cancer researcher, transplant surgeon and teacher

The investiture ceremony will be held at Government House in Victoria later this fall.