The playoff matchups are set in the NFL (SCHEDULE)

Jan 4 2021, 8:45 am

After 256 games, the NFL playoffs are ready to begin.

Coming into this past week, eight teams were fighting for five remaining playoff positions.

Two additional teams have been added to the playoffs this season, meaning that 14 teams will compete for the chance to lift the Vince Lombardi Trophy at Super Bowl LV in Tampa on February 7.

That also means this year only the top seed in each conference will get a bye and avoid playing in wild card weekend.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Offside (@dailyhiveoffside)


In the NFC, The Green Bay Packers (13-3) have claimed the top seed in the conference and are the only NFC team to earn a week off.

The New Orleans Saints (12-4) will play in the wild card round, in what many have speculated as Drew Brees’ final season, against the Chicago Bears (8-8) on Sunday.

The Seattle Seahawks (12-4) got the third seed this year and won their division for the first time since 2016. They will play the L.A Rams (10-6) on Saturday.

The Washington Football Team was able to win their Sunday night game against the Philadelphia Eagles to win the NFC East. They will host Tom Brady and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers on Saturday.

Moving over to the AFC, the Kansas City Chiefs have the top seed and will get a week off.

The Buffalo Bills (13-3) defeated the Miami Dolphins (10-6) to clinch the second seed, and they will play the Indianapolis Colts in the first game of wild card weekend on Saturday.

The Pittsburgh Steelers (12-4) claimed the third seed and will face the Cleveland Browns (11-5) who are in the playoffs for the first time since 2002 on Sunday. That will mark the playoff debut of outstanding Canadian rookie wide receiver Chase Claypool, from Abbotsford.

The Tennessee Titans (11-5) needed a last-second field goal to beat the Houston Texans (4-12), but they got it and will be the fourth seed. They’ll face the Baltimore Ravens on Sunday.

Here is the full playoff schedule:

Wild Card Weekend

Sat Jan 9: Indianapolis @ Buffalo – 1:05 pm ET/ 10:05 am PT
Sat Jan 9: LA Rams @ Seattle – 4:40 pm ET/ 1:40 pm PT
Sat Jan 9: Tampa Bay @ Washington – 8:15 pm ET/ 5:15 pm ET

Sun Jan 10: Baltimore @ Tennessee – 1:05 pm ET/ 10:05 am PT
Sun Jan 10: Chicago @ New Orleans – 4:40 pm ET/ 1:40 pm PT
Sun Jan 10: Cleveland @ Pittsburgh – 8:15 pm ET/ 5:15 pm PT

Divisional Round

Sat Jan 16 or Sun Jan 17: NFC Team TBD @ Green Bay
Sat Jan 16 or Sun Jan 17: AFC Team TBD @ Kansas City
Sat Jan 16 or Sun Jan 17: AFC Divisional Round
Sat Jan 16 or Sun Jan 17: NFC Divisional Round

Conference Championships

Sun Jan 24: AFC Championship – 3:05 pm ET/ 12:05 pm PT
Sun Jan 24: NFC Championship – 6:40 pm ET/ 3:40 pm PT

Super Bowl

Sun Feb 7: Super Bowl – 6:30 pm ET/ 3:30 pm PT

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT