Justin Trudeau appoints 4 cabinet ministers from BC

Nov 20 2019, 8:56 pm

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced his new cabinet this morning, which includes four ministers from BC.

Trudeau appointed Joyce Murray, MP for Vancouver Quadra, as Minister of Digital Government. She is no longer serving as president of the treasury board.

Harjit Sajjan, MP for Vancouver, remains as Minister of Defence.

Jonathan Wilkinson, MP for North Vancouver, became Minister of Environment and Climate Change, a portfolio that was previously held by Catharine McKenna.

MP for Delta, Carla Qualtrough, has become the Minister for Employment, Workforce Development, and Disability Inclusion.

Trudeau’s new cabinet has a total of 36 ministers.

“Today, I can introduce the strong, diverse, and experienced team that will work together to tackle the big issues that matter to people from coast to coast to coast,” said Trudeau in a statement.

“Whether it’s making life more affordable for the middle class, taking action on climate change, or keeping our communities safe, we will continue working tirelessly for all Canadians.”

DH Vancouver StaffDH Vancouver Staff

+ News
+ Politics