How to watch and stream Super Bowl LV in Canada this year

Feb 4 2021, 1:28 pm

It’s Super Bowl time!

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers are taking on the defending-champion Kansas City Chiefs this Sunday in an epic matchup of quarterbacks.

Tom Brady is searching for his seventh Super Bowl ring, while Patrick Mahomes is looking to become the first back-to-back championship-winning QB since Brady in 2003 and 2004.

The Bucs will be playing in their home-stadium, which is a Super Bowl first, at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa.

Grammy Award-nominated artists Jazmine Sullivan and Eric Church will sing the national anthem. Pre-game will also feature Presidential Inauguration poet Amanda Gorman, who will recognize Americans helping in their community.

Grammy Award-winning artist The Weeknd will provide Canadian content, as the headliner of this year’s halftime show.

CTV and TSN are televising the game in Canada, beginning at 6:30 pm ET/3:30 pm PT. The CBS crew of Jim Nantz and Tony Romo will be calling all of the action. Pre-game coverage begins at 10 am ET/7 am PT on TSN, and noon ET/9 am PT on CTV.

For a second straight year, most of the big budget American Super Bowl commercials won’t be televised in Canada.

If you don’t have traditional cable, no need to worry, there are other ways to watch the big game through streaming platforms.

Sports streaming service DAZN offers access to the NFL in Canada. That means if you’re a DAZN subscriber, you also get access to NFL Game Pass, which allows you to stream a variety of games and NFL-related shows, including Super Bowl LV.

If you haven’t used DAZN before, you can sign up for a one-month free trial and get access to it that way. After the one month free trial, you’ll be charged $20 CAD per month or $150 CAD for a year.

You can also watch through TSN Direct, which starts at $7.99 CAD for one day, or $19.99 CAD for a month. The CTV website is another way to stream the game, however you will need a TV credential login from your TV provider.

Kansas City is currently favoured to win the game by 3.5 points. With pandemic restrictions, only 25,000 fans, including 7,500 frontline workers, will be allowed to enter the stadium, which will also have 30,000 cardboard cutouts in the stands. That means that resale ticket prices are also going through the roof this year.

Super Bowl LV

Matchup: Kansas City Chiefs vs Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Location: Raymond James Stadium, Tampa, Florida
Date: Sunday, February 7, 2021
Kickoff time: 6:30 pm ET/3:30 pm PT
Pre-game show: 10:00 am ET/7:00 am PT
TV: CTV, TSN, CBS

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT